White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Great recipe. My only change is instead of sour cream, I use vanilla yogurt. I also will sometimes use a different frosting to change things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Amazing! The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is because the icing is so sweet. I still enjoyed it, but I would like the icing to be less sweet. The cake itself is moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I used this recipe as the base for a Coconut Poke Cake (recipe by Leslie on allrecipes.) I added 2 teaspoons of baking powder and used 1 teaspoon of vanilla instead of the almond extract and baked it in a 13 x 9" pan at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes. I made two of them for dessert at a large gathering. It received rave reviews!! I will use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
If your favorite drink is Pepsi, you will probably like this. But if you are a "water drinker" who occasionally makes a cake, this will probably be too sweet for your liking (me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gayleskornerkitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made this cake exactly as stated except in a round pan, so I had too increase the time. Hour of baking produced a cake that tested done but was very wet and oily. Put it back in and it dried out some but still oily and had a rawish smell and taste. I guess I was right about the preparation method - nothing beats creaming butter and sugar first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I. LOVE. THIS. CAKE. I've always made the chocolate version of Texas sheet cakes and like others had no CLUE there was a white version, but Diane, YOU my new little friend are just the BEST! I discovered this recipe just recently and have already tried several variations, with great success with every modification I might add. My first go-round, I needed a white cake for Church, something basic to go under a white cream cheese frosting to decorate with black musical notes. Little hesitant with the almond so used half almond, half vanilla on the extracts. Everyone loved it, so that weekend when family came over for the Super Bowl I tried the recipe as written. Realizing "as written" could mean walnuts OR pecans, I opted for pecans and all almond extract. Rave reviews was an UNDERSTATEMENT! Made it several times since then too. (You'd like to think I have no other dessert recipes, lol!) Making it again tonight to be used as a dessert after our youth's Spaghetti Dinner fundraiser tomorrow. Will be trying sprinkles instead of nuts this time since it'll be mostly kids in attendance. I was actually asked to bring a "box cake" but why use a BOX when you have a recipe like THIS! It's quick, SO easy, versatile and quite adaptable. The best part is it's mostly ingredients you already have on hand. Not one single "con" I can think of...it's just the perfect cake just the way it's written here! Diane, thanks SO MUCH for sharing...needless to say, for me, this one's a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Great cake!!! I love Chocolate Texas Sheet Cake so had to try this. Loved it. I did add a little vanilla extract along with the almond extract to the cake. Used Pecans instead of walnuts because I like :-)I think next time I would like to use Maple extract w/Pecan. I think that would be a GREAT combo :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Rice Lomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I love this plain or with hot bittersweet chocolate sauce. I used a 9x13 and added 2 tsps of baking powder. Toothpick out clean in only 30 mins @350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Perfect. Nom nom nom! This cake is so easy to make. My daughters (10 and 4) "helped", and it came out perfectly. Thank you! We had made fudge that didn't quite set up, so we warmed it up and used it as frosting. This cake lasted only a couple days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Sierra
Home Town: Bartlett, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
yay. Not bad. Not EXACTLY what I was looking for but it definitely did the job and was quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States