White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I did not use the frosting, so I cannot speak for the entire recipe, but the cake itself was excellent- very moist. I doubled the recipe to use in an 11x17 pan (greased and floured), then torted to fill with fresh strawberry mango filling, and topped with vanilla-almond buttercream and fondant. The cake held together very well when I torted it which had been a concern since it was quite a big size. I will definitely be adding this to my arsenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Loved IT! Soo easy to make and soo tasty! I added extra almond extract because I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I love this cake! I changed the frosting - left out almond extract and added a tablespoon of vanilla instead, and left out walnuts. THE BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Great cake! So easy to prepare and I always receive compliments. I do add a bit more milk to the icing so it spreads easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Andrix-Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very good and moist cake. I added a little coconut along with the walnuts. Got rave reviews from group I cooked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
We enjoyed this one! I used pecans instead of walnuts. Kept well for lunches for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I like this cake very much I sometimes use vanilla extract in place of the almond extract in the icing. My mom says since it is very sweet and rich she makes only half a batch of icing for the cake. I also have a neighbor who bakes texas sheet cakes in a regular rectangular cake pan probably for height but she may bake it longer than the given time but not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Odin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
The cake was eatable but flat....I suggest 1 teaspoon baking powder added to the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I did change it, replaced almond extract with lemon extract. A totally different texas sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
PAN SIZE IS ESSENTIAL!!! If you make this cake in a size other than indicated, you will have a failure. If you choose to do that, do NOT rate the recipe poorly. Texas sheet cakes are *supposed* to be flat, moist, dense, and sweet. If you try to make it be something it's not, you'll be disappointed (and that will not be the fault of the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States