White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
the icing was to thick and would not spread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Loved this cake! It tasted like a giant sugar cookie. It was gone so fast I didn't get to take a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I never knew there was a White Texas Sheet Cake recipe around and I am so glad I found it. This cake is soooo good, moist and tender and I do like the almond flavoring that is used; I bet vanilla would be just as good. Love the ease in prep too. I used my own buttercream frosting recipe and then topped it with fresh strawberries when it was served - it was great! Many complements. Thanks Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
The family was very happy with this, it is a moist and easy cake...a happy change up from chocolate sheet cake and perfect for a casual get together. I did back off the sugar 1/2 cup and also the almond extract for the children's sake. Frosted with chocolate. The husband said "Why have we been eating other cakes than this one?". Thank you for a lovely white Texas sheet cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Craig, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I didn't have the size pan it needed so I used a 9x13 and just baked it for 10 extra minutes came out fine...my problem is the frosting...made it exactly like it said and it came out like silly putty, I'm imagining this is what fondant is like, I had to Mold it onto my cake I could literally pick it up in my hands and shape it like putty...will not be using that frosting recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Made this the other day on the advice of friend, we omitted the water and used buttermilk instead. Wow, it was great. I accidentally used to much almond extract in the frosting. recommend measuring and not dumping. anxious to find the chocolate version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
The easiest recipe I have ever made for a cake. The flavor reminded me of a light sugar cookie flavor cornbread if that makes senses. It was dense and not fluffy. I LOVE sweet sweet stuff but, the icing was too sugary sweet and thin so I just made a standard chocolate buttercream. After cooked, I divided the cake and layered it into a four tier cake. It was very good and like everyone else said, it was so much better the next day. The only change I made was to use vanilla instead of almond extract. I also added two tablespoons of seltzer water, I do this for every cake recipe that I make. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
After a fair amount of mediocre baking experiences lately, this was a welcome and refreshing surprise! Moist and sweet and dense and delicious - and the almond flavoring was just the right amount! They're pretty too. I didn't use the frosting, however, since I had some of my own favorite buttercream frosting left from another baking day - and it had vanilla flavoring, no almond, and I liked it that way. I made half a recipe in a 9x9 inch pan, but a 7x11 inch pan would work well too. These are going to be a hit tonight when I serve them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I tried this recipe out on my family first before bringing to a church potluck; it was moist, sweet, delicious, and yes, it's supposed to be flat. The icing was sweet but again, it's a sheetcake so it's supposed to be sweet. This is an excellent recipe, soooo easy and quick you could almost have the whole thing done in 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Very happy with this cake. Devoured by co-workers and they are a critical bunch! Took suggestions from several other reviewers and made the following changes... Used the 10 X 15 pan as called for / used 1/2 tsp of almond and 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract / frosting - used only 3 cups of powdered sugar / 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup cream cheese / and lastly, used maple extract instead of vanilla. The taste almost reminded me of a pecan pancake with maple syrup! The texture was good, dense but very moist. Actually rose more than my Texas sheet cakes ever did - I might added a tad more baking soda than called for. Because of that, I adjusted the icing so it would not just all spill out over the side. The cream cheese and less sugar helped it set a little faster and I also made sideboards from tin foil to help hold it in at the edges. I will be making it again many times as will my co- workers. I also agree with other reviewers that this cake is a good pairing with the traditional Texas Sheet Cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States