White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This cake is DELICIOUS! I'm eating mine fresh out of the oven as we speak and I'm telling you, it's the best white cake I've ever baked. The bottom of the cake that was left in the pan was good as well! The top is buttery and sweet, this cake doesn't even need any icing (I'm eating the cake as is, no icing anyway, I didn't feel like making any). I'll admit that I had my reservations about baking this cake since one of the ingredients was a good bit of water and I thought about substituting the water with milk but changed my mind and decided to go along with that part of the recipe as is and I'm glad I did. However, I did make a couple of changes: I substituted the almond extract with vanilla and the baking soda with baking powder. I personally don't like using baking soda when I'm baking cakes and usually always use baking powder anyway. Since I had a half cup of butter softened already and not a whole cup I simply halved the entire recipe to make a smaller cake since it was just for me tonight to satisfy a cake craving. My cake didn't really rise that much as others' said, but I care more about the taste than a big hunk of cake that won't taste good. I say unless you're baking a cake just for appearances this is the one! Thanks for posting this recipe! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Moist it was! used it to make a bottle shaped wine bottle for my sisters anniversary. It was just perfect for stacking. i did change by using vanilla flavor though. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Super-strong almond taste! It's good but I think I will add a little less almond to the recipe and I can see why it might be better with a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Yum Yum Yum!!! Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Only thing i changed was to omit pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This cake was excellent! The BEST white cake I have ever made. I had a request for a white birthday cake. I'm so glad I found this one! It was a hit. The only thing I did differently was I made chocolate buttercream icing for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XtinaU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
We were meeting the new man in DD's life and I needed a dessert to stand up to a good cup of coffee or a tall glass of milk. Not to mention ingredients I had on hand! This filled that need very well. The cake is easy, moist, great flavor and no frills. "Mr. Wonderful" commented that he knew DD was a great cook and after dinner and this dessert, he knew why! Yep, he's a , er, the cake is a keeper!! Made it early yesterday AM and DH just finished the last piece with the comment that he wouldn't mind if I did this one again! he will not be disappointed. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This is a great change from the traditional Texas Sheet cake. Only change....I didn't add the almond I added vanilla instead. This is a yummy recipe! If your family likes sheet cake they will love this. It's my non-chocolate cake lovers fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Almond heaven! After reading reviews, I reduced the white sugar to 1 1/2c and made more of a glaze using the same frosting ingredients just less of them (only 1c confectioner's sugar). The cake is fantastic & plenty sweet! I can't imagine if I had used all the sugar the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is my middle daughter's favorite kind of cake. Today was her lucky day. I did not put the nuts in the frosting due to personal preference. Ate this with fresh raspberries and it was just wonderful. I just love the almond extract flavor. I don't make this very often because of the sugar and butter, but when I do, we sure do enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States