White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
The classic white sauce. Add cheese for a cheese sauce. Other sauces based on this would use tomato puree or lemon or egg yolk. People shouldn't give this a lower rating because it is bland. White sauce is by definition bland because it is used as a base or starter for other sauces. Works perfect for a macaroni and cheese base, add about half a block of Velveeta and it's a great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
608 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was so easy and a great base. We were having Shrimp so I added crushed garlic, parm cheese, parsley and pepper. Next time I will add tomato and bacon and have it over penne pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
409 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I have used this recipe for many years (about 50) and I learned how to make it from my mother, so it's been our family for a long time. I make a thinner sauce sometimes and use it for a cream soup base. It's a recipe that every child needs to learn :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
COMBINE FLOUR AND WATER IN A MASON JAR. sHAKE AND ADD TO PAN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
There is a reason this is a highly rated sauce....its called a béchamel and is a basic french cooking sauce. Been around forever and ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Great starter white sauce, texture was perfect. I added salt, pepper, nutmeg, fresh crushed garlic, bacon and parmesan. Next time i will add green onions and shrimp instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
A simple, easy and very versatile sauce. I added Pepper Jack cheese to the sauce along with a few seasonings and served over filled crepes. Good Carolyn and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This recipe is very good and goes very good with any kind of cheese to make a very good cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This needed a lot of fresh chopped basil and parsley for flavor. Topped with grated parmesan and asiago cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This was easy to make. We loaded it up with vermont cheddar and put it over macaroni on a cold night - spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States