White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
very easy and quick. I use this to make a cheese sauce for veggies! Learned how to make it in home-ec too, but it's been so long I had forgotten. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Basic Bechamel sauce! One of the classic 5 mother sauces! Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This is a great and easy base. I use it often as we cook at home daily. I've made alfredo sauce, macaroni and cheese, an herb and garlic sauce--very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sis.e.bare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Doubled the recipe, added 1/2 cup of good chicken broth, a lot of black pepper (because we like pepper!), salt to taste (kosher and garlic salt blend), and dried parsley. I also added roast chicken from the night before, which I shredded. Then I boiled egg noodles and tossed it with the sauce. SUCH A GREAT QUICK MEAL!... especially when you've had a long day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Great base recipe. It can be used in several dishes. I sauteed garlic with olive oil instead of butter, once ready I added a lot of fresh grated parmesan cheese and black pepper and served over whole wheat spaguetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
So easy that my 6 year old daughter made it for dinner. We used unsalted butter, so had to add salt. We also added a bit of onion powder and dry mustard. Fantastic on our noodles, served with salmon burgers and mixed veggies. My daughter's comment on the noodles, "it's my favorite food."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
A Perfect Blend of ingredients for an amazing base- easy- possibilities are endless- THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I add a pinch of salt and pepper to season. Sometimes I add a cup or so of cheese to make a cheesy white sauce. This is a wonderful base for many recipes. I no longer use cream soups in any of my casseroles instead I substitute this white sauce or the cheesy sauce. I use it in chicken noodle casserole, green bean casserole (use velveeta in sauce top with french fried onion), great topping to trick your kids into trying veggies (worked for me when I was young) also courtesy of Rachael Ray it is a great "glue" for hot ham and cheese sandwiches or pour down over top for a yummy knife and fork sandwich. Couldn't live without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is so easy and can be used for many different things. I use it quite a bit for creamed onions and they are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States