White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
excellent. yeah it's bland without much flavor and could easily be white gravy. but you add ANY flavor you want to it and it takes on the taste. i used some sweet and sour seasoning mix that was supposed to be fried on chicken or pork. the flavor was light and tasty. my family ate it up. next brown sauce. lol!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
It was great as a base..I added pepper, salt, garlic powder, and one big mushroom, chopped up real good....put it over chicken that I sautéed with mushrooms, sweet peppers, onions, spices..and I cooked a roll of croissants - kept it flat for a base...kinda like flat chicken pot pie....It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
My mom made this for me as a kid and added peas and chipped beef and served over toast it's great! Still make it to this day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Perfect base recipe. As is, the sauce is quite bland, but with a few extras it becomes a delicious sauce. I added garlic powder, black pepper and parmesan cheese, and served it over penne pasta. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Great recipe, really easy. I was out of milk so I used heavy whipping cream (ended up using ~1 1/2 cups). Added some salt, pepper, sriracha, and 1/4 bag mexican style cheese, and then mixed it into half a box of rotini, some spinach, and a can of tuna for some loaded mac n cheese. Only way it could have been better was if I'd had some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
It's so simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Wonderful! I use this for macaroni and cheese all the time. I add whatever cheeses I have on hand and eyeball, stir, and taste. As another reviewer said, double this for a full (13.25oz) box of pasta. Tonight I used Smart Balance, half and half, 1lb of frozen broccoli, wheat elbows, and a mix of cheddar and feta. I top with some Panko and either Parmesan or just sprayed with cooking spray to brown. Delicious as always. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Perfect as a base sauce! I added parsley and served it over broad Windsor beans. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Allsopp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Easy and so versatile! Added some parsley grated parm and garlic.. tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States