White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I can't count the number of times I've used this recipe. I've added things and changed it up for almost any recipe. When I could only have lactaid milk, I used this recipe as a base for anything that called for cream of whatever soups as well as a sub for any type of white sauce. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother2Be

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I added parmesan cheese and some spices and it made a nice alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Very good base white sauce recipe! You can add to your tasting. I added 3 grated cloves of garlic, sun dried tomatoes, grated parmesan cheese, dried basil, salt, pepper and chopped fresh flat leaf parsley. I also added more milk. Tasted great with whole wheat penne and grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by citymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is a great base to my sharp cheddar sauce. I just add about 3/4c of cheese and it is perfection! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gmitchell0612

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
simple for starter (add in possibilities are endless) 5 stars for simplicity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My first time doing white sauce! I was really scared that it wouldn't thicken, and at first it didn't. So I just added an additional tb. of flour and it got nice and creamy. From there I added salt and pepper and stirred in 1 cup of shredded mozzarella. The sauce got pretty thick so I then whisked in another 1/2 cup milk (I used skim, btw) and the consistency was perfect. I don't eat dairy, but everyone told me it was great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a great basic easy sauce that me and my daughter make often, with a few add-in such as grated cheeses and you got a nice tasty sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Mom used to make this back in the 50's and mix tuna into it, serve over mashed potatoes or rice, even toast...I lost her notes and when I found it here I was so thrilled :) As delicious as ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is great!! I put it on my pasta with some Mediterranean oregano leaves and Mediterranean basil leaves and it taste great!!!! But you add your own spices and I'm sure it will be good!! Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States