White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I was looking for a good base for a sausage pasta using ingredients I had on hand and this worked great. Browned up some pork sausage with onion, garlic, italian seasoning and crushed red pepper; added s&p and grated parmesan to the white sauce and tossed with linguine and had an easy meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nolegurl78
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
First time I have made a pasta sauce. BIG hit. Everyone cleaned their plates. Twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was in an old 1960s cookbook I can't find. For breakfast, cook sausage and use 2 Tblsp drippings instead of butter. Add some pepper and pour over hot biscuits. 1 Tblsp flour and shortening gives a thin sauce and 3 Tblsp a thick one. Use water premixed with flour in place of milk for making turkey or chicken gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MountainGrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
excellent. yeah it's bland without much flavor and could easily be white gravy. but you add ANY flavor you want to it and it takes on the taste. i used some sweet and sour seasoning mix that was supposed to be fried on chicken or pork. the flavor was light and tasty. my family ate it up. next brown sauce. lol!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
It was great as a base..I added pepper, salt, garlic powder, and one big mushroom, chopped up real good....put it over chicken that I sautéed with mushrooms, sweet peppers, onions, spices..and I cooked a roll of croissants - kept it flat for a base...kinda like flat chicken pot pie....It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
My mom made this for me as a kid and added peas and chipped beef and served over toast it's great! Still make it to this day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Perfect base recipe. As is, the sauce is quite bland, but with a few extras it becomes a delicious sauce. I added garlic powder, black pepper and parmesan cheese, and served it over penne pasta. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Great recipe, really easy. I was out of milk so I used heavy whipping cream (ended up using ~1 1/2 cups). Added some salt, pepper, sriracha, and 1/4 bag mexican style cheese, and then mixed it into half a box of rotini, some spinach, and a can of tuna for some loaded mac n cheese. Only way it could have been better was if I'd had some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
It's so simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States