White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I remember white sauce being used with many vegetables such as corn, peas, mixed vegetables, lima beans, etc. Also, Moms would mix up a batch of white sauce and add canned vegetables for a quick vegetable soup. Chipped beef or fried hamburger was added to white sauce for gravy. Add a little salt and pepper to the white sauce and this recipe is perfect. Thanks for sharing a forgotten favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I added minced garlic, chicken bouillon (instead of salt), some poultry seasoning and a dash of paprika. We had it over pasta, steamed chicken and cauliflower. Yum. Thanks for posting a recipe so easy even I was able to follow it. (I tend to concoct, rather than cook.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I added a tea spoon of VEGETA Gourmay Stock yum. I made mine in a microwave jug on high; one minute stir, further 30 seconds it was done. Being an oldie on my own I tend to use the Microwave a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
My 1st time making a white sauce (bechamel) and this recipe made it so easy - thanks so much! And thanks to the reviewer who said to double it if making a whole box of penne. That is exactly what I did and it is indeed the perfect amount! :D Oh...I did add seasonings, namely salt, pepper, garlic powder, and dried parsley. And I was aiming for a mac & cheese style dish so I whisked in grated parmesan, romano, and fontinella cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
A great base for many dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by epicurious_11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fall Creek, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This sauce was fantastic!! I live in Africa and was looking for something new to spice up pasta, but simple and easy for me to get basic ingredients. I sauteed fresh garlic,tomatoes, onions and sausage and added to the sauce. It was Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I use this recipe all the time when I make white sauce....it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I added cheese like others suggested. Really good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Terrific basic sauce. My mom used to add salt, pepper and sliced hard boiled eggs at the end and then serve it over toast to us. It was always a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Great basic white sauce!! I used this for my lasagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States