White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Terrific basic sauce. My mom used to add salt, pepper and sliced hard boiled eggs at the end and then serve it over toast to us. It was always a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Great basic white sauce!! I used this for my lasagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Simple, and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is an excellent base sauce for any recipe! I made this sauce in home ec. class in high school and fell in love with it then. Thank you so much for posting this recipe here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This year I've pledged to make dinner from scratch with my niece and nephew once a month. This time was mac and cheese, and I was hoping to find a cheese sauce recipe, rather than a baked mac, which would have been too "different" from boxed for their narrow pallates. I was nervous that I didn't get a chance to try it first, but I made it, (they cut up the ham and shredded the cheese) and it was a hit! My nephew who is a notoriously bad eater cleaned his plate!!! I used heavy cream instead of milk, and added deli ham and grated British cheddar, stirred over the heat, then immediately stirred it into the drained pasta. It was so easy, I'll avoid boxed M&C from now on! It was rather bland, but I plan to have fun and experiment with celantro and garlic, other herbs, and perhaps a stronger cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Definitely needs some seasoning - salt & pepper at the minimum. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Great sauce! We added bacon, garlic and parmesan cheese and spread it over spegetti noodles. Huge hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I have to be the worst cook in the world, and I made this! It was great - I added sharp cheddar, salt, pepper, garlic, and cubed chicken. Served it over pasta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Perfect starter sauce! I made mac and cheese by adding some colby jack and cheddar cheese. I'll use this easy recipe from the rest of my life, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This sauce is wonderful! It is a great base :) I added a crushed garlic clove, basil, parsley, pepper, salt, and a bit of parmesean cheese, like suggested. I then mixed it with pasta and it was a wonderfully cheesy dinner! I also use this basic recipe with margarine instead of butter and soy milk- 1/2 as much) as a substitute for cheese in quiches when I cook non-dairy; i just cook it down until it is a thick consistency. It tastes amazing and has wonderful texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Sauce

See how to make a simple base sauce for many dishes.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States