White Russian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The proportions are perfect in this recipe, provided you use GOOD vodka. If you are above the age of 40, you have probably found a premium vodka you can enjoy straight, or over ice. Use this one! However, if you are in your early 20's and it's more of a challenge just to see how much of the cheapest liquor available you CAN possibly drink and still get up the next day, , then you will definitely want to adjust up the measures of Coffee Liqueur and Cream. I was 20 once. I remember. I'm 45 now and I drink premium liquor at a much slower pace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karyn8sons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
White Russian is possibly the best drink in the world. After making about two dozen I decided that the best proportion is 2 Tbsps vodka, 3 Tbsp Coffee Liqueur, 3 Tbsp cream(lightly beaten, or you can use shaker if you have one), 3 Tbsp milk + lots of ice And don't forget the straw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
HINT! SWITCH OUT THE KAHLUA FOR STARBUCKS COFFEE LIQUEUR! IT IS 40 PROOF AND MADE FROM 100% REAL STARBUCKS HOUSEBLEND COFFEE! IT MAKES KAHLUA TASTE REALLY BAD!!! TRY IT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Perfect for drinking while watching "The Big Lebowski." However, I prefer mine with 1 oz vodka to 1 1/2 oz kahlua. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I guess I will have to tell on myself here! I have gulped down more White Russians in my day than I probably should mention! I think they taste better with a double dose of the Kahlua, and are much tastier when half and half is used in place of milk. And just the other day when I discovered I had ran out of half and half, I topped one off with Irish Cream liqueur. It was the best one I had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Love White Russians. They are my fave card night with the girls drink. I add just a little chocolate syrup taste amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taylor Mill, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
These are good with a half shot more kahlua than vodka, rather than equal parts as this recipe calls for. Also, I always use milk, because I always have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Try with vanilla flavored vodka. Amazing! I was also a bartender for a few months and have put a splash of coke in it. It makes the flavors kind of pop. Its really unexplainable but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I got a margarita machine for Christmas and we used it to make this drink for our New Years Eve guests. Talk about a coffee milk shake!! YUM! I had a bad experience with Black Russians many moons ago so I no drink the coffee flavored liquors, but I did have a taste and OMG was it ever delish! BTW, fat free half and half works really well with this. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
super good! This was my first time ever having a white russian and I likey!! I made them just a tad stronger and used cream. i think next time I'll try them with milk, because the cream was pretty heavy (but tasty!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Russian Cocktail

See how to make a creamy, coffee-flavored vodka cocktail.

Black Russian Cocktail

See how to make a super-simple cocktail with vodka and coffee-flavored liqueur.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States