White Russian Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
These brownies are kick-you-in-the-rear delicious! After brushing the kahlua on top, let them sit overnight. The alcohol will evaporate an all the flavors soak in. They are SO GOOD! I took the recipe to an annual bake-day with some friends. None of the brownies even made it out the door! Kudos to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I must say, since white russians are my drink of choice, I couldn't wait to try this recipe. I'm sorry to say that I think it's awful. I used an 8X8 pan instead of a 9X9, and I barely had enough chocolate to cover the bottom of the pan, let alone to split in half. And the cream cheese layer was HUGE, entirely too much. Perhaps if the taste were more balanced, but you really need more chocolate to be able to call this a brownie, it consists mostly of the cream cheese. It is very sticky and gooey and stuck to the pan, despite greasing and flouring. I'll never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Mmmm...Great moist brownies. I halfed the cream cheese like recommended by others but next time may make the full amount as I thought that was the best part of the recipe. The only problem was the cooking time. Like others have said before, after the recommended cooking time, the outside was cooked while the middle was gooey. I made a "ring" of foil (like when cooking pie crusts in the oven to prevent the edges from burning) and covered the cooked outside portion (exposing the uncooked portions) and put back in the oven, checking continuously until cooked. Although it was a pain, the results were fantastic. The taste of the chocolate and cream cheese was similar to black-bottomed cupcakes my mom always used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Made these today for my wife and I. Only had 8oz of cream cheese, so I halved that layer and did not brush with coffee liquor after cooking. Turned out great! Used an 8X8 pan, so they were nice and thick. Cooked for 35 minutes and were done perfectly. May use slightly less vodka next time. Overall very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daidai
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
FANTASTIC after I followed the suggestions of halving the cream cheese filling. I even baked this in a 8x12 cake pan and it turned out great after 35 minutes in the oven. Even though it was hard to spread, I felt that it was truly a brownie's thickness when done that way. I was very satisfied. The only different thing I did the second time I made these was increase the amount of vodka in the chocolate mixture by about 3 Tablespoons, since I felt that it was a little weak in the alcoholic taste. Finally, I heavily recommend oiling the pan well. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I hated it and my husband liked it so I refrained from rating it. After using half the bowls in my kitchen, I found the recipe to have too little chocolate mixture and too much cream cheese mixture. It overcooked the outsides while the the inside remained gooey. And the taste wasn't worth raving about in the least. I was terribly dissapointed. My husband said it was like eating cheesecake inside a cookie sandwich, so he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
WOW!!! If the finished product tastes anything like the batter, this stuff is awesome! I only used one 8 oz package of cream cheese instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Tips: Bake at 350 for 40 minutes and the brownies will be perfectly done. Ease up on the vodca in the cream cheese. Once you have the layers in place use a knife to swirl all three together, then detail the top with a toothpick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
i liked the idea of these, but i didn't like the result. WAY too much cheese mixture in the middle and it didn't get solid for me -- even after putting them in the oven a second time! cut the cream cheese down to 1 brick, DON'T soak the top with liquor, DO swirl or slightly mix the top two layers. good luck...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
sinfull and easy... definatly a keeper I will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Eileen Kettrick-Charti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Russian Cocktail

See how to make a creamy, coffee-flavored vodka cocktail.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States