White Nacho Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I love the flavor of this sauce. Since I was making it for young ones, I used half pepper jack and half Monterey Jack cheeses. When I make it for myself, I'll use all pepper jack. I made this for Ore-Ida's Veggie Totchos, and it was perfect! I used the recipe for Self-Rising Flour on this site, cutting it down to 1/4 cup. I'd like to use this as a base for pizza sometime. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The key to this recipe is using a full flavored cheese you love. The proportions are spot on and even lend themselves to lightening if desired. I used skim milk and light butter (what I had) and the base thickened nicely. Just make sure you cook the butter/flour mixture a bit but don't let it brown (like if you were making gumbo). Make sure to add the cheese slowly and whisk thoroughly before the next addition. I added a fresh minced jalapeño pepper with the cheese and it did add additional flavor. Next time I'll add a bit of the pickled juice from the jalapeno jar for added kick. Would be the perfect base for mac and cheese or cheesy potatoes - just change the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
So this recipe is great if you don't have the ingredients around to make other cheese sauces. While bland and a bit different texture I added some chicken broth and also some medium pecante sauce and it beautified the sauce! I also used cheddar cheese mozzarella and some pepper jack cheese. Also some seasonings but if you just add stuff you like and keep tampering with it this sauce can be really yummy. It's a great base for a delicious sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this tonight with cheddar cheese and it was great! It was a bit grainym but I'm sure that was my fault. Will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi Barton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
My family love it and rate it waaaaay better than any canned or jarred nacho cheese sauce. Instead of pepperjack cheese, I use whatever aged cheese I have on hand (usually cheddar or cheddar/monterey jack blend) and add one 5 - 7oz can of mild, diced, green chiles to give it that great, authentic, slightly spicy, nacho taste. This is a great base recipe for any cheese sauce. There is room for some leeway in the recipe and is pretty hard to mess up so besides ease and taste, flexibility earns this recipe 5 stars. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downtoearthcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is great! I use sharp cheddar instead of pepperjack to make it not spicy for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My son gives it 10 stars! He literally licked the bowl! I added a can of chopped green chilies and about 1 TBSP of cumin when adding the cheese to melt. I got huge hugs for this one. THANKS FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I used this as a topping for enchiladas. I used Colby Jack cheese instead of Pepper Jack because it's what I had on hand. It turned out perfectly! Everyone wanted more! Thank you for a great recipe that I can easily create for Mexican night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalBay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I used Cheddar cheese instead of the pepperjack. This turned out smooth and creamy! Depending on your tastes, it may need a little salt, but it is good as-is to me! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elcho, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is OK but if you go to a store that sells to the public restaurant foods and get Land o Lakes white melting cheese in a big block and melt it over a double broiler with you adding milk til you get to the restaurant consistency you want you will be very happy.You can add chopped halapino's for extra kick but the restaurants if they make there's from scratch use that brand of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States