White Gelatin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
this recipe is great. As a lover of coconut I used 1 cup of coconut cream and substituted vanilla and lemon juice with coconut extract. White Gelatin turned out super sensational. Thank you for this lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I loved this! Even better, my husband enjoyed it and he's very picky about the more unusual desserts I make (things he's not familiar with). I chose to go exactly by the recipe with just a tiny alteration. I doubled up on both the vanilla and the lemon juice. I loved how it came out snow white, this will make the perfect base dessert for next Christmas. When I say 'Base' it's because there are so many things you can do with this. You're not just limited to a jello mold, I don't know what I'm planning yet but it will be clever. I served this after dinner with sliced strawberries. The combo of the lemon and strawberries was quite yummy. You can coconut to this for the illusion of snow (and to add another flavor) both inside or just on the top, you can substitute coconut extract instead of the lemon, you really can do anything that your brain can come up with. I love a versatile dish! The texture was great, reminded me a little bit of Fluff but a lot less heavy and sticky, LOL! This is a keeper and I can't wait to see what all I can think of to do to this or add it to. OH, the toppings are limitless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Followed recipe exactly and it was ok. The presentation was not good for me, it broke apart. The taste was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Normally I try not to rate a recipe unless I have made it EXACTLY as the directions say. However, I was in the process of making this when I realized I was out of unflavored gelatin. I did have orange flavored gelatin so I decided to try the recipe with that instead. I followed the directions and added the vanilla but omitted the lemon juice. This turned out fantastic. I really liked it alot! The only reason I am even typing all of this is to let others know that any packet of gelatin will work in this recipe. If your stuck and dont have unflavored, there is still a good recipe in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is good. Lighter than cheesecake but reminiscent of it. I used neufchatel cheese bc bf's trying to focus on losing weight and I'm trying to help him. Plus, I could lose some too! Make sure you mix the gelatin and water thorougly, and mix with the rest quickly. I seem to have taken too long--there were a few (not many, but enough) places where there were little pieces of gelatin. I ate with fresh oranges--very good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
A big hit a my dinner party! I spooned individual servings into disposable punch cups and then topped off with a raspberry sauce reduction. Everybody had seconds. I did half cream cheese and half ricotta cheese. I also used two geltain packs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Husband and son liked this a lot. I thought the cream cheese flavour was a bit overwhelming (and I like cream cheese a lot too) but it's still a nice smooth dessert. It reminds me a bit of almond gelatin, an Asian dessert; I think I might try this again with a wee bit of almond extract. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Didn't have much flavor and was difficult to mix well, although it looked nice. Would be a good base for mix-ins like candied fruit peel or peppermint pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I made this for Easter dinner tonight and I was a little worried about how it was going to taste because it was so different from any other jello that I have ever made! I dressed it up with sliced strawberries and canned mandarine oranges, drained of course! The presentation was beautiful and I was actually pretty proud of the way it looked! Once everyone started to eat I was hearing "Who made the jello!" My older brother even said to me..."If I ever need to be fed from a tube, feed me this stuff!" Everyone loved it! I will definately make this again! I would say that it could even pass for a dessert as well as a side dish! I did vary a little from the original recipe....I added two package gelatin with 2/3 cup water and I added a little more cool whip. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I was not a fan of this. It was a light dessert which is good but it was too tangy for my taste. The family thought it was just ok. I think next time I make this I will use neufachtel cheese because it is lighter than cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Jell-O® Eggs

Fun and easy Easter dessert treats.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States