White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
could not get rid of the chunks from the milk and flour mixture. mixed for 20 minutes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I tried making this recipe twice! I feel like i just wasted an hour. and lots of ingredients. The second time it came out better cuz i didn't overcook (?) the milk (how on earth are you supposed to "boil" milk?), but even the second time after 15 minutes of beating the frosting til has... holes... in it. i can't describe it any other way. and it has small chunks of flour. i don't kno what i did wrong. i followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is the recipe I have been looking for years, love the fact it is not to sweet, I could have eaten it without the cake. I took the advice of two reviewers, used all butter, and I whisked the milk and flour before cooking it to make sure there were no lumps. I did not refridgerate it, it was just fine for 4 days. Thank you so much my search is finally over, will never buy store bought frosting again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Might be among the most delicious frostings ever! And so easy to do. I am never running out to the store for premade corn syrup frosting ever again. I had it beating in the KitchenAid stand mixer for a full 12 minutes (maybe a little more). I didn't have shortening so used all unsalted butter instead (therefore 1cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very easy and very tasty. Not too sweet. Looked really fluffy and kind of "retro" (with added rainbow sprinkles and American flags) on my 4th of July cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very good frosting, especially on chocolate cake. Light and fluffy, not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
What a lovely and simple old-fashioned frosting recipe! :) I made mine bright pink with 3 drops of red food coloring. A real winner. I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer on med-high and the texture came out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaNuchols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Very good recipe! Simple not too sweet. Don't worry about the cooking part it takes like 2-3 min. awesome! Don't use Imitation vanilla! P.S. I hate shortening just used 1 cup real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I needed a quick white frosting to put on my pineapple cake.I tried this one and everyone in house loved it.It is almost custard like but was very easy and different tasting.I will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is my favorite frosting recipe. Whenever I frost a cake, I pull out this recipe. Be sure to mix the flour and milk before putting the pot on the stove. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States