White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was great! I was skeptical at first but tried it anyways. The first four and a half minutes of mixing didn't look to good but around the fifth minute mark the gooey mess suddenly transformed into a nice, creamy, light frosting. It was easy to frost with and the leftover cake lasted wonderfully, though nit long. The mixing really is the key. This one is now in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I have made this type of frosting for many years. Believe it or not it comes out tasting like whipped cream. Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
It was really good! Not too much sugar and still tasted sweet! I liked how no confectioner's sugar is used at all. I used butter instead since I don't have shortening and it still tasted good. It does really take a long time to mix indeed. I also added a couple drops of red food coloring and made pink frosting.I'm definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I've never been a fan of rich frostings like buttercream - It tastes waxy to me. So this recipe is a keeper and most of the ingredients are things you already have on hang. It's so creamy and at times a little bit like pudding. Unfortunately because it isn't so overpoweringly sweet, it makes it easy to keep on licking the bottom of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I never have had problems with allrecipes and always confident everything will turn out delicious. This frosting literally tastes like solid Crisco and butter. The consistency is thick and oily and not fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Fabulous. I changed the servings from 12 to 16 because I like plenty of frosting and don't want to worry about being short when I'm frosting the sides of cakes. I used my immersion blender's whisk attachment to blend the flour into the milk before heating it and with just a few stirs while bringing to a boil it came out so smooth. I creamed the shortening (crisco) butter and sugar before adding the cooled flour/milk paste spoon by spoon and even added an extra 1/2 cup sugar as I wanted it just a touch sweeter. Anyone who had problems with the graininess must've not beaten it long enough. I used my kitchenaid standing mixer and that does a great job with the whisk attachment. What I like so much about this frosting is it's not overly sweet so that I can use the sweeter decorating icing for decorating and guests don't have to scrape off frosting to enjoy the cake. This is very similar to my grandmother's frosting recipe. It would be a good filling for oatmeal cookie "sandwiches" as well. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I used this recipe the other day for cupcakes, and it was yummy, nice and lite and not too sweet. Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dealthecards123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I will use this from now on... I did use all butter and I added raspberry puree. It was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meggy1017

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I needed a quick frosting for cupcakes to take to work. After realizing I was out of confectioners sugar, yea believe it, I needed a recipe that used plain white sugar instead. This one was perfect. Fluffy and not too sweet. I added just a touch of almond extract along with the vanilla just cuz I love the flavor. I will definitely save this too my recipe box and use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdpurdue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Thank you, Sierra, for posting this recipe! This is the white frosting I remember from my childhood in the 70s. My mother used it for chocolate cake until she "discovered" 7-minute-frosting. But, I still like this one better. I thought it was lost to history - I'm so happy to find it again and share it with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States