White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Update: this frosting was not well received by my dinner guests. Maybe a chocolate version might be better. In the future, when I'm in a pinch, I'll stick with 7 minute frosting that I've had better feedback on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This worked out great despite the fact that I quartered the recipe. I still followed as directed. I was looking for a frosting recipe without confectioners sugar as I don't like the taste of it. The sugar is completely incorporated if the butter/shortening/flour, etc. mixture is beaten long enough as directed. Therefore, I would recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Ok I am a 13 year old girl and I love to cook! except i couldn't believe the way this frosting came out. When you put in the milk and flour you should specify and tell us to dust it in because my mixture came out real clumpy. It also tasted buttery and it was more yellow than white. when i taste tested it I think it tasted gross. My dad thought it wasn't bad. When I put it on the funfetti cake it seemed to run down the side so I added about 2-3 cups of flour and I sprinked it on litely and then mixed it and repeated this. on the cake it didn't taste bad probably because there was more cake than frosting no affense but I would never make this again PS. please do not feel affended this is just my opinion Boo ya jack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This ruined my cake:/ I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I have used this recipe for years and it is a family favorite. I use all butter in the recipe. The best tips for making this recipe a success are: 1) Whisk your flour into the milk before cooking. I use a rounded 1/4 cup flour. 2) Cook flour milk mixture until it is thick like paste. 3) Someone said not to let the milk boil. You have to let it boil gently to get to the paste stage. 4) Cover the hot paste like mixture with plastic wrap before putting in fridge. This will keep a skin from forming. 5)Cool flour mixture completely before proceeding with recipe. Meanwhile bring butter to room temp. 6)Beat all ingredients in stand mixer for full 10 to 12 minutes or longer. Frosting should be light and fluffy, and sugar granules completely dissolved. I keep cake or cupcakes in fridge until just before serving time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I found this recipe a little to buttery. I doubled the vanilla and added and extra 1/4 cup milk at the end to help tone down the buttery flavor. Next time I will only use 1/2 cup butter. I still prefer the taste of whipped cream icings. I also used the full cup of sugar but might try less next time. The texture was good and even with the extra milk I found it easy to spread onto a cake - (probably a little to thin for piping).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This has quickly become my family's favorite!! It pipes very well for beautiful cakes and cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Wonderfully yummy frosting, but the consistency was a little thin. I will add more flour/milk next time to thicken it a bit. Very yummy though, thank you Sierra!***UPDATE*** I changed my rating from 4 to 3 stars, due to the frosting hardening after it cools in the fridge. I would prefer that it remain soft. The taste is good, but like another reviewer said, it feels "waxy" after a while. I will look for another recipe. thanks anyhow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Don't be scared away from this recipe by some of the reviews! The people who said it doesn't turn out must not be able to follow the directions. I used more butter instead of shortening because I didn't have any and I only made a half batch of this and it was the perfect amount to generously frost 2 dozen cupcakes. It turned out light and smooth and was super easy. I admit that it does look terrible after only 5 minutes of beating but it really makes a nice transformation when it is done. I used the wire whisk attachment on my stand mixer and it was done by the time 9 minutes were up. I will be using this recipe again in the near future as its a nice change from the usual confectioners sugar icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
OM OMG! This is a wonderful frosting. I made it exactly like they said to do, except that I took out the shortening and made the whole thing 1 cup of butter...IT IS DELICIOUS...This will be my only "go to" white frosting recipe from now on. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States