White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Did not care for the taste of this frosting at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Great recipe, love that it's not sooo sweet! Cooking directions should be a bit more clear though, the boiling's not important, it's the thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I love this recipe and have been using it for years! So light and fluffy also not too sweet; it really lets the flavor of the cake shine! I like it on dark chocoalte cake; it looks so pretty! What this recipe doesn't state is that the milk/flour mixture has to thicken (like paste)before it's done; maybe that's why some peoples didn't work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This frosting was very good!!! in the begining it looked pretty bad but then it terned very fluffy. it was great for any cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I was in a panic when I realized I didn't have any cream cheese to make cream cheese icing for my boyfriends carrot cake, then I saw this and realized that I could do a little subing to it and have great icing. I simply add 4T. of sour cream to this and it tasted just like cream cheese icing...not overly sweet but oh so yummy on carrot cupcakes. This is a keeper both as is and with my little sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe...this same one has been in my family for ages and I know of some bakeries that use the same. They key is room temp ingredients and whipping for 15 minutes. ADDING EXTRA SUGAR will make it gritty. This also works well with a few tablespoons of cocoa or peanut butter to vary the flavors. This is a high success frosting compared to gritty, runny powdered sugar frosting that makes a mess and is sensitive to temperature. KUDOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is great! Not too sweet, not too thick... Its light and cream! Taste fabulous!!! My favorite part... it was fairly quick and easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by share bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
The taste was okay but for some reason it was really runny. I didn't use shortening, just doubled up the butter, so maybe that was my problem. Or maybe I didn't let it boil long enough. Regardless, it ran off the cake and didn't cover at all. Since I didn't follow the recipe exactly it didn't seem fair to give it a 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This recipe is very similar to one my husband's grandmother makes to frost red-velvet cake. Everyone in the family gets one for their birthday. It is sooooo much better than cream cheese frosting! If you want a really white frosting, use Wilton's clear vanilla extract. Be sure not to boil the milk/flour mixture for too long, otherwise your frosting will look like it has tapioca in it! (But it will still taste great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peanut's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This WAS NOT WHITE and WAS NOT FROSTING. I don't know what went wrong. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out to be a YELLOW GLAZE. I used it on my cookies (The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies) anyways and they were delicious. The only thing, is that it did not harden, so when stacked, they messed up. 4 stars for good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States