White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Great, versatile recipe. I wanted to make an eggnog flavored frosting for the holidays and this recipe was great as a base to modify for that. I'll be using your recipe for a long time to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This frosting is super multi-purpose and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Well my 2 yr old daughter and I tried this one. Not bad, but we learned a valuable lesson. When it calls for shortning..... you must use shortning. We tried to substitute and well, it came out a lil greasy or oily. Not a bad frosting. Definately gonna use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Did not care for the taste of this frosting at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Great recipe, love that it's not sooo sweet! Cooking directions should be a bit more clear though, the boiling's not important, it's the thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I love this recipe and have been using it for years! So light and fluffy also not too sweet; it really lets the flavor of the cake shine! I like it on dark chocoalte cake; it looks so pretty! What this recipe doesn't state is that the milk/flour mixture has to thicken (like paste)before it's done; maybe that's why some peoples didn't work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This frosting was very good!!! in the begining it looked pretty bad but then it terned very fluffy. it was great for any cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I was in a panic when I realized I didn't have any cream cheese to make cream cheese icing for my boyfriends carrot cake, then I saw this and realized that I could do a little subing to it and have great icing. I simply add 4T. of sour cream to this and it tasted just like cream cheese icing...not overly sweet but oh so yummy on carrot cupcakes. This is a keeper both as is and with my little sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe...this same one has been in my family for ages and I know of some bakeries that use the same. They key is room temp ingredients and whipping for 15 minutes. ADDING EXTRA SUGAR will make it gritty. This also works well with a few tablespoons of cocoa or peanut butter to vary the flavors. This is a high success frosting compared to gritty, runny powdered sugar frosting that makes a mess and is sensitive to temperature. KUDOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is great! Not too sweet, not too thick... Its light and cream! Taste fabulous!!! My favorite part... it was fairly quick and easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by share bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States