White Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
There is an easy fix to this recipe. Uncooked flour will taste like raw flour. To correctly make this sauce (called a roux) you must first cook your flour in a couple of tablespoons of butter or oil. Heat the butter in a saucepan on low heat, being careful not to burn. Stir in flour until a paste is formed. THEN add liquid ingredients gradually, stirring constantly over low heat until smooth and desired consitency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
When I tried this recipe it tasted chalking and flour-ey !!! I would suggest that no one use this and that if you do try it, you use LESS flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This started too flour-ee. We used half & half with regular white flour, doubling the amount of dairy with the prescribed amount of flour and it turned out fine. Then we added salt, lots of pepper and 6 cloves of garlic in a 4 serving recipe. Yum. 2 star recipe starting but but it's a 4 1/2 star recipe with these changes :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieq
Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I used this as a base for white sauce for peas. I suggest adding some sugar for a little flavor. Maybe garlic, parsley etc. It has no taste but can be used as a base and then add what you want to make it taste like something other then flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I used this as a base for my cream sauce, adding some garlic, salt, pepper, and italian spice for flavour. It turned out quite well but I would use a little less flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This definitely has potential but I couldn't put my finger on it. I wish I would have read the reviews before ruining my heavy cream [expensive stuff!]. I cut this recipe down to serve 2 and still it came out too thick. Definitely should have used less flour! I ended up having to add dill & garlic to spruce it up. I am not sure if I want to attempt this recipe again but I am sure it could be fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I tried it with chicken breasts and served it on top of pasta it was pretty good it depends I guess how you spice it up and what pasta you may use. I used reg. spaghetti but you can use fettucine, or linguini,or like pastas that really hold up to a good sauce such as this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I halved the recipe (didn't know if it would keep) and it didn't turn out well at all. In the end, I used 1 cup of cream, salt and pepper, some garlic and corn starch to thicken. This way turned out better than the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I ended up adding a lot of garlic to it, making it into a garlic cream sauce out of it. The amount of garlic varies for the dish you're using for. For just plain pasta, I usually end up using 2-3 cloves. But obviously it depends on the person. It made a very good base for a garlic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bedford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Add much less flour. To fix I added 1/4 tsp of salt, oregano, and 2 cloves garlic, 1/8 tsp of thyme and cumin, 1/4 cup milk, 2tbs of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States