White Chocolate and Cranberry Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I have made this recipe for 3 years now and everyone loves them. I've always used vanilla extract instead of the brandy and have used 3/4 a cup of cranberries when I didn't have a cup and they still were delicious and looked nice. I look forward to making them again for this years office cookie exchange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I bought some fresh cranberries on sale before thanksgiving. I didn't want to make cranberry sauce (boring) and I found this recipe. It calls for dried cranberries, I used the fresh, I rinsed them and put them in a glass dish on 250 degrees for 5-10 mins to soften them up. Then I folded them carefully into the dough right at the end!! I took them for thankgsgiving, they were gone before anyone even sat down to dinner. The cranberries popped open in your mouth. Absolutely the best cookie I've ever made or eaten!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
One of my favorite cookies! Only a few alterations and comments: You must use brandy or other alternative (Capt Morgan would be good too, as one reviewer suggested). It makes it special. I always double to recipe and decrease the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup of both white and brown sugars. I also use margerine (I Can't Believe its Not Butter)and add a box of Cheesecake flavored pudding. Cook as Diane suggested, just until barely brown and leave on the cookie tray (I use stoneware) for 3-5 minutes. They will be scrumptious! I cannot tell you if they are dry the next day, as some suggest b/c ours never last that long! BTW, the dough freezes beautifully. I just drop it onto a cookie sheet with my "scoop" and freeze it. When baking the frozen ones, put them on the cookie sheet when you preheat the oven and they will be ready to bake when the oven is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Wonderful Christmas cookies with just a few modifications. Since I hate it when cookies spread too thin (I feeled like I've failed somehow), I used 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening - still delicious! Used just a little less sugar - 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup white sugar and added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans and did not grease the cookie sheets which keeps them from spreading too much. I ended up with beautifully rounded, chunky cookies chock-full of crunchy, chewy, creamy bits - yum. 8 minutes baking and no more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I formatted this recipe for cookies in a jar for Christmas. They looked so pretty being that 2 of the ingred. were red and white. I layered the jar as follows: 1/2 c. brown sugar (well packed & pressed down into the jar), 1/2 c. sugar, 1-1/2 c. flour, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 3/4 c. white choc. chips, & 1 c. dried cranberries. As long as you are consistant using the exact ingred. and slightly pounding the bottom of the jar on the counter, all the ingred. fit perfect into a quart size jar. Also, I found that using a hand made funnel out of paper helped a lot. I added a pretty Christmas fabric to the top and made a little recipe card that I tied to the outside of the jar: 1. Empty cookie mix into large mixing bowl. Use your hands to thoroughly blend mix. 2.Add: ½ cup butter, very soft; 1 egg, slightly beaten; 1 Tbsp. brandy. 3. Mix until completely blended. You will need to finish mixing with your hands. 4. Shape into walnut sized balls. Place 2” apart on sprayed baking sheet. 5. Bake at 375 degrees for 8 to 10 mins. in preheated oven. Remove to racks to cool. Makes 2 dozen. I enjoyed putting these together and giving them as gifts. I received such wonderful responses from the receivers and the ones that have made the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
These cookies taste great!! Not too sweet, but not bland at all. The white chocolate gave it sweetness but not too much. I did make the following changes though: (1)Added 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white (2)I rolled the dough into balls and flattened them a bit before baking, if you don't flatten them they will keep their shape and turn cake-like and (3)I baked them at 350 degrees for 9 minutes. These cookies came out perfect and they were SO easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
These are a yummy treat which we all loved. I used vanilla instead of brandy and added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans. I also doubled the recipe as others had suggested and I'm very glad I did. These will have to be hidden if I want to keep them until Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
These were delicious!!!! Loved at both work and home. I had a hard time keeping away from them. The recipe doesn't make too many so I'd advise at least doubling or tripling the recipe. Also, I found that they held together better by pressing into balls before putting them on the cookie sheet. Simply doing a dropped spoonful made them too loose after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
What can I say? I've now found a family tradition that I will make for Thanksgiving and Christmas forever! This recipe is delicious. Like others, I used vanilla extract instead of the brandy and the cookies are heavenly. My whole family and my whole extended family couldn't get enough of these cookies. I was so proud of them, I made up cookie gifts for my neighbors :) I truly believe this cookie is one fo the best cookies I ever tasted. I used dried sweetened cranberries. I couldn't find any dried cranberries that weren't sweetned (don't really know for sure if there is such a thing anyway), but I will make sure I get the same kind of cranberries next time as well. I don't want to change a thing. Thank you, for this recipe. I can't give enough praises for it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I found this recipe by accident, and I am so glad that I did. It's a wonderfully unique holiday cookie! Nice twist on a traditional cookie dough recipe! I used vanilla instead of brandy, and used dark brown sugar. I would also recommend using a good white chocolate chip, like Ghirardelli, and Craisins (sweetened dried cranberries). My son ate a half dozen as soon as I got them out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 882) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States