White Chocolate Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This is a great base for a frosting recipe! I melted the white chocolate in the microwave, stirred it well, and then added the sour cream. Next, I added 3 cups of powdered sugar and beat for a few minutes with an electric mixer. When I was done I poured it over my cake. To let it set good, I stored the cake in the refrigerator. The taste was absolutely amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keanu
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Amazing! Super easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
The taste was OK but other than that it was too runny, even after letting it set in the refrigerator for a while it was still too runny! maybe I should have used something to thicken it but oh well...I couldn't even use it on my sons birthday cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I was skeptical but this is AMAZING ! I put it on a birthday cake for my teenage son, he said its the best I've ever made ! I read a review where the person said they would not be trying it but then rated it ?! Not fair ! That's what made me try it ! Thanks negative nelly ! You lead me to a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I really, really like this icing!!! :) It does always clump a little...but it is SO worth it! It isn't the icing you should pick if you're going for beauty...but if you're going for taste...than this is the BEST!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
In baking and cooking, when you are attempting to combine warmed melted solids with cool non-solids (or cool non-solids that will become solid when mixed with warmed non-solids), and you would like to have the result of a creamy non-clumpy substance, you need to take the time to introduce the two ingredients slowly. It also helps if you also get your cool substance to or close to room temperature. Therefore with this recipe, I measured out my sour cream and set it aside to become room temperature. Then I melted the white chocolate chips and stirred them with a fork to a cooler state. When I felt that they were at the correct temperature but not again solid chocolate, I drizzled the white chocolate into the sour cream while I was mixing on low speed. Once they were creamed together I turned up the speed to high to make the mixture thicken. As with any cream based product, the more you mix it the thicker it will become but you must be careful you do not over beat. This recipe is more of an icing than a frosting in my opinion. Therefore I added 2 cups of powdered sugar and a tablespoon of pure vanilla extract. Add additional powdered sugar ¼ cup at a time until your desired thickness. My addition to this recipe made the mixture more like a frosting for my taste and it retained the white chocolate flavor due to the additional vanilla. So no problems with this recipe. It turned out excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Used good quality white chocolate, melted in the microwave. Put sour cream in a larger bowl and used electric beaters to whip for half a minute then slowly drizzled in the cooled chocolate. No lumps, and a light whipped texture. Beautiful flavour, not too sweet - perfect to top the white chocolate mud cake I made. Many thanks for the easiest "gourmet" frosting recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
put it on raisin scones and it went over VERY WELL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberness
Home Town: Madison, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Followed recipe and it turned out a bit too tangy for my taste so I ended up adding more white chocolate. I give 4 stars because my husband really liked it and it was super easy. Just okay for me though, not sure I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
very running, not really frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States