White Chocolate Snack Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I've been making this for years, but I use only one Tbsp of oil. This helps the white chocolate to retain a bit more of a "chocolate" consistency. I also substitute Peanut candy-coated chocolate pieces because my family just can't get enough of the nuts. You can substitute Valentines, Easter, 4th of July and Fall colored candy pieces to adapt this to any holiday or season. Great alternative to traditional snack mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
This was the best Christmas snack I've ever made! Following someone else's suggestion, I reduced the amount of oil just a bit. I used holiday-shaped pretzels with the green and red M&Ms. I also used golden grahams cereal to add a little extra sweetness to go with the salty of the peanuts and pretzels. I couldn't put it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
I make this recipe with Christmas tree shaped pretzels, and red and green M & M's. When tied into a cellophane bag and inserted into a festive container, this makes a tasty, inexpensive and personal gift! I also print the recipe on a recipe card and slip it into the container, since everyone always asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I have given this snack mix as Christmas gifts two years in a row now. I always get people raving about it. I absolutely love it too and have difficulty stopping myself from eating all of it when I'm making it! I usually add about 1/2 package more of the white chocolate chips just to cut down on the oil and cover everything better. I also spread my whole kitchen table with waxed paper (I tape it to the table with tape) and just dump this stuff out on it to cool. Then, just throw away the paper when you're done! Makes clean-up easier, I think! This is good stuff -- you can't go wrong with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I found the chocolate coating to be kind of wet or greasy even after letting it set up. I ended up putting the mix back into the bowl and tossing it all with a little powdered sugar. It fixed the greasy problem and still tasted good. I loved the sweet and salty combination, but next time I won't add 3T of oil to the chocoalate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I love this mis and make it all the time. Since my time is limited, I have adapted it to my "busy mom" schedule. I buy the foil snack bags of Traditional Chex Mix and add in extras like M&M's, peanuts, crusehd up candy bar. The bag already has the pretzels and the seasoning is wonderful. If I can find the white bark I use that, if not, then white chocolate chips work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This is the one I have been looking for! It is utterly addictive. Makes a ton of snack mix. I used christmas mix m&m's and square pretzels. Filled disposable decorating bags with it and tied at the base with red and green ribbons to give as office gifts. Resembles snow covered Christmas trees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Delicious recipe Sue. Everyone loved the sweet and salty mix. However I expected the chocolate to cover the ingredients completely. Next time I will double the chocolate, the pretzels, and peanuts because those were everyon's favorite part. I will definately make again and plan to add them to my Christmas gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This was excellent! I had a little extra of the cereal, pretzels, etc so I used them up - but after reading the reviews I decided to also melt a package of "swirled" peanut butter/chocolate chips. Mixed them in first, then did the white chocolate as directed. Used giant m & m's because i had them on hand. It was simple, easy enough clean up and really tasty - the sweet/salty thing is addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra901

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made this for my son's birthday party and it was a huge hit!! Everyone loved it. It's hard to stop eating! This is a HUGE recipe though. It filled 3 cookie sheets. So you may want to cut the recipe down if you don't need that much. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States