White Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FHPeay
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
This cake is delicious! I added an egg yolk (makes a moister cake), and put white chocolate into a food processor (smaller pieces ensures chocolate melts completely). I also substituted butter, caramel, and coconut extracts for the almond extract (read the reviews about the overwhelming almond taste). I just used shortening and flour to coat the pan. Oh and I added black walnuts (my favorite). I make my own glaze. Rave, rave, rave reviews. I'm definitely making this cake a holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This is the most incredible pound cake recipe I have ever tried! The cake is super moist and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
When a recipe gives you a dry cake, make trifle. I baked it in mini Bundt pans. The batter looked beautiful and tasted promising, but it did not deliver. Fortunately, I baked just a couple of cakes in the first go-round where I added the white chocolate chip; not only did they stick, they didn't add anything flavor-wise. In the end, I had beautiful, dry little Bundt cakes. What's a girl to do when she needs desserts: I turned them into mini trifles with berry sauce, whipped cream, and fresh berries. That was it's only saving grace (hence the 3 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Hubs and I agree this was not the finest pound cake I ever made. Whatever white chocolate flavor there might have been was completely masked by the almond extract. Hubs even inquired what the “weird flavor” was, and that it had an “unpleasant aftertaste.” I decided the idea of putting the chopped chocolate in the center just didn’t appeal to me so I didn’t use it, and I’m glad for that. Also, I’m thinking that four ounces of white chocolate in the batter in place of the extra cup of sugar and additional 1/2 cup of butter that would typically be there wasn’t exactly the perfect trade-off. It was neither as moist nor as sweet as a good pound cake should be. A good dousing of Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze, also from this site, was this cake’s salvation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
My family absolutely loved this cake! I added an extra 1/2 cup of sour cream because I saw a few reviews saying that it was dry but this cake was far from dry! We also added strawberries and it almost tasted like strawberry shortcake. It was to die for and we will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This cake is absolutely delicious and the texture is great. Add strawberries and you have a winner. My entire family raves about this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I know there is huge debate on whether or not a person should review a recipe when they have made a number of changes, but I tend to change most baking recipes to cut fat and sugar. In any case I made this cake subbing the butter for vanilla yogurt, the sour cream for sour skim milk (I just added lemon juice to milk), and the eggs for egg whites and it worked out wonderfully!! The texture was a little dense (which I like in a pound cake) but still very moist. For anyone looking to try this in a low-cal version I highly recommend it. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I wanted a mild but good flavored pound cake and boy am I glad I made this one. I really didn't change anything I just added 8 melted squares to the batter. This tasted great!!! Will be making again very soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bastrop, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xoxo_lina
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I halved the recipe and baked it in a greased and floured 8 x 4 pan for 1 hr at 350F. I used 2 eggs and reduced the sugar by about 1/4 cup. For the drizzle, I put the two chocolates (used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of a square) in two separate ziplocks and put them in a bowl of hot water for about 5 minutes. I then cut a tiny bit of plastic from the corners and drizzled. The drizzing was a breeze! This cake offers a hint of white chocolate so I think if you are looking for a recipe with a very strong white chocolate flavour, you may have to double the white chocolate or you may be slightly disappointed. Nonetheless, it is a delicious pound cake with a light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
UPDATE: I created this recipe as cupcakes and changed a few things that knocked this baby even further out of the ballpark! Instead of the layer of white chocolate in the middle, I eliminated that and added white chocolate chips. Bake for about 23 minutes. Let cool. THEN - cut out the center and fill with raspberry preserves. Instead of drizzle or frosting, I made a whipped white chocolate ganache and drizzled some raspberry *stuff* on top. Oh. My. Gosh. It was the best thing EVER!! Fall 2011: This was definitely one of the best cakes I've ever made. It was fantastic! So moist and tasty - and SO rich. A small piece will do ya. I will definitely be making this again... and again... and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States