White Chocolate Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Hoooweee! Yum. What a good use of white chocolate. Underbake them a little - they'll stay chewy at delectable that way. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
These were interesting. Good but a little odd. Batter was very thick - I added about 2-3 tablespoons of vegetable oil. They don't spread much at all when they cook but they do flatten out a little. I would've called them 'orange creamsicle cookies'. My husband said would've been better with regular chocolate instead of white chocolate. My son liked them. Not sure I'd make these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Great recipe! I love the orange flavor with the white chocolate and I think it is a sexy adult cookie. Kids may not like it, but c'mon -- they have enough cookies of their own! :) Included this in my Christmas cookie baskets and people loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
During the Christmas holidays I was persuaded to try this recipe by the enthusiastic reviews of my Cooking Friends--What A Dish!, Cookin'Mama, LadyJayPee, IMVintage, and Tunisianswife, and I'm so glad I did--my family loved it. I used a combo of semi-sweet and the semi-sweet/white chocolate swirl chips and finely chopped pecans. I also used 1/2 teaspoon orange extract, but I did not add orange zest (not a big fan!), and I added 1 teaspoon vanilla. The first time I made them, I used all butter, and the second time I used part butter/part shortening. I personally like the combo of butter and shortening in a cookie because I think shortening adds a little crispness. Great versatile recipe--on my keeper list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
These were good! Like Cookin'mama, I used King Arthur White Whole Wheat Flour with good results. I also added 1 tsp vanilla. And like What a Dish!, I added pure orange extract (1/2 tsp). I also used the zest from two satsuma oranges. I divided the dough in half and used white chocolate chips (real ones) in half and mini-semisweet chocolate chips in the other, & used only half the amount of each (1/2c each). Both were delish. Thanks for the great cookie recipe, Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Usually I am happy with just a tiny sample of the cookies that I bake, but not this one; I love the delicate orange flavor of this cookie. I used King Arthur organic white whole wheat flour (nobody had a clue!), milk chocolate chips, and flattened each cookie before I baked them. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
WOW, are these good!! I absolutely love them! So good! I had a little trouble getting the orange zest, but all I had were satsumas, and I take it they're not the best to zest, lol. So I stopped after I had 1 teaspoon (that alone took over 10 minutes!) and just put 3/4 teaspoon of organic orange extract in the dough along with the zest. My bag of white chocolate chips was 12 oz. which was a little over 2 cups, but I threw them all in anyways- I loooove white chocolate. After the first batch was in the oven I remembered that some reviewers had said these cookies don't spread out at all, so I lightly flattened the rest with a fork and liked how those turned out better. These have a perfect texture- I baked for 9 minutes. I like that they don't have tons of sugar like some other recipes (although the white chocolate kind of makes up for that!). I used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and omitted the salt because I used salted butter. White chocolate and orange are so scrumptious together. These are sooo good and I think I might make them again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Loved teh flavor of this cookie! I do think semi-sweet chocolate might be a tastier combo for my tastes so next time I will try that. I added a tsp of pure orange extract in addition to the orange zest & I subbed pecans for walnuts, to use what I had on hand. I had to cook mine for 15 minutes & they never spread out or flattened much. Be warned...if you try a bite of the raw dough, you wil be unable to stay out of it. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
great recipe! Such a nice change of pace for a chip cookie. Didn't have white chips so subbed choc. chips and loved the chocolate/orange combo. Only addition was 1 tsp. vanilla. This is a crisp on the edges/chewy on the inside cookie; much like Tollhouse texture. Thanks for the picture, as it represented the thickness and shape achieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Oh my gosh I love these! The orange compliments the white chocolate perfectly! I didn't make any changes to this recipe, but it sure calls for some cranberries in this. So I will add some next time. 5 stars isn't enough for this recipe, it should get 10!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States