White Chocolate Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I also left out the nuts cause I don't like them and these are wonderful. I do have a little hint...if you like your cookies soft and fluffy, I use 1/2 baking powder and 1/2 baking soda. They do not fall flat and they stay moist and chewy. They are great this way. I will always make my cookies with 1/2 soda and 1/2 powder. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I love this recipe! I've actually made it twice now. Both times I had a little trouble with the consistency. I ended up adding only 2 cups of flour, and even still, it was pretty dry. So, I added the juice from the orange that I had zested which I would HIGHLY recommend, because it makes the orange flavor just a little stronger, and the dough a better consistency. I also used dark chocolate chips instead of white, and I'm a huge pecan fan, so I substituted the walnuts for pecans. Defiantly a new fave. Oh ya, under bake them just a little so that they come out chewy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
WOW, are these good!! I absolutely love them! So good! I had a little trouble getting the orange zest, but all I had were satsumas, and I take it they're not the best to zest, lol. So I stopped after I had 1 teaspoon (that alone took over 10 minutes!) and just put 3/4 teaspoon of organic orange extract in the dough along with the zest. My bag of white chocolate chips was 12 oz. which was a little over 2 cups, but I threw them all in anyways- I loooove white chocolate. After the first batch was in the oven I remembered that some reviewers had said these cookies don't spread out at all, so I lightly flattened the rest with a fork and liked how those turned out better. These have a perfect texture- I baked for 9 minutes. I like that they don't have tons of sugar like some other recipes (although the white chocolate kind of makes up for that!). I used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and omitted the salt because I used salted butter. White chocolate and orange are so scrumptious together. These are sooo good and I think I might make them again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
During the Christmas holidays I was persuaded to try this recipe by the enthusiastic reviews of my Cooking Friends--What A Dish!, Cookin'Mama, LadyJayPee, IMVintage, and Tunisianswife, and I'm so glad I did--my family loved it. I used a combo of semi-sweet and the semi-sweet/white chocolate swirl chips and finely chopped pecans. I also used 1/2 teaspoon orange extract, but I did not add orange zest (not a big fan!), and I added 1 teaspoon vanilla. The first time I made them, I used all butter, and the second time I used part butter/part shortening. I personally like the combo of butter and shortening in a cookie because I think shortening adds a little crispness. Great versatile recipe--on my keeper list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
These are wonderful with the delicate orange flavor. I made a few changes per other members advice. I like my cookies thick, soft, and chewy, so I used 1/2 tsp each baking soda and powder, made sure my butter was room temp, and packed the flour into the measuring cups. The latter ensures a slightly firmer dough that doesn't spread in the oven. And I did use only one cup chips...that was plenty for this small batch of cookies. (I got two dozen generously sized cookies.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I enjoyed the flavour. I have always loved the combination of orange and chocolate but I found that there was too much flour and the presentation was not pleasing (pale)so, I will make the following changes next time. I will omit the white sugar and increase brown sugar to 1 1/2 cups, use the zest of a whole orange plus the juice of half the orange. I will cut the flour to 2 cups, add a tespoon of ginger and use semi-sweet choc. chips (personal preference). I also will baked at 375 F for 7-9 minutes for slightly crispier outer 'crust' while maintaining a chewy interior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
these cookies were easy to put together and were very flavorful. My entire family of nine loved them. My only suggestion would be to scale back on the white chocolate chips to half the amount called for. So rich! I used butter flavored crisco instead of butter. They were soft, chewy, and gone in less than a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Very good, but I made the mistake of using orange peel spice instead of fresh orange peel/zest. The orange taste was kind of funky. I did add 1/4 tsp. orange extract, and would do that again. I will definitely try this recipe again, but use fresh orange peel. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
If the cookie dough is any indication of how the finished product will turn out, I immediately knew these were going to be fantastic! Perfection in a cookie! I'm picky about the texture of cookies, and these delivered exactly what I was looking for. Some subtle changes I took with the recipe: added 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp baking soda, as I prefer a puffier, cake-like cookie. I added 3/4 tsp vanilla and more than a tablespoon of the grated orange zest. I added fewer chips than called for due to personal preference. Not too sweet, chewy on the outside, soft in the middle.... absolutely delicious. 3 1/2 year-old daughter (who helped me make these), and the hubby, could barely wait for these to cool before diving in! Next time, I will double, or even triple the recipe, as these cookies are impossible to resist. Thank you VERY much, Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
My girls made these. A bit of an event as my oldest doesn't do cooking. I just hovered in the background giving advice mainly on how to get the zest off an orange. They used about one and a half tbsp of zest as my youngest got a bit over enthusiastic and only a cup of white chocolate chips even they thought more would have been too much. They also left out the nuts as neither of them really like them. These were the best I'm not a cookie lover I normally just have one to see what they're like but I can't get enough of these. My girls say they'll be making them again next week. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States