White Chocolate-Macadamia Nut Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
very dry. I too had to mold the cookies in my hand and even that didn't hold them together. Mixture was too crumbly. I doubled recipe as I always do with cookies. If I try again it will be with less oats. Flavor was outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I've tried this recipe as written and I've made changes to it and it's great every time! 1)I almost always add an extra egg. 2)I like to use semi sweet chips instead of white chocolate, and I double the chips. Don't double the white chocolate, it will make them too sweet. 3)I've tried to make it healthier with whole wheat flour and agave in place of the white sugar. This makes the texture different, but still an awesome cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
First I would like to thank the reviewer who wrote that she successfully replaced the butter with oil. That worked great. The cookies turned out wonderfully and looked so beautiful, but I am giving the recipe four stars because of how labor-intensive it was working with the crumbly dough and the fact that cutting down on the ridiculous amount of white chocolate chips would've help make it so much easier to work with the dough and would have allowed the taste of those expensive and delicious macademia nuts to come through. I love chocolate. Cutting down on the amount used in a recipe does not come easy to me, but here it overloaded the dough so it could not hold together and completely overtook the nuts so that I could barely taste them. To sum it up: 1) Feel free to use oil instead of butter and, more importantly, 2) cut down on the white chocolate so that the dough will be enough to hold the chips and nuts without so much wasted effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Were OK. Dry and very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone Poyhia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I used some suggestions in the other reviews, doubling the recipe but not the chocolate or macadamia nuts. I also added one cup of craisins. Since some folks said they were dry, I added two teaspoons of water as well as I have another oatmeal cookie recipe that calls for that. These were scrumptious! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Based on other reviews I used 2 eggs instead of 1, plus I added another 1/4 cup of flour - with good result. However the dough needed salt. I had assumed that the macademia nuts used were to be unsalted. Wondering why this receipe left out so important an ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is one of our favorite cookies. You have to try it! If you are not a fan of oatmeal, add less of it & add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this recipe because I brought macadamia nuts home from a recent trip to Hawaii. I'm sorry that I wasted the precious nuts in this cookie. I followed the recipe exactly. The batter didn't hold together - it was just a crumbly mess. I had to "mold" each cookie in my hands. Next time I'll search for another way to use the macadamia nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I added an egg and a little bit of flour and used white chocolate chips. I used a medium sized ice cream scoop to drop the batter onto the cookie sheets, this helped to produce round cookies, these really don't spread much. I baked them for 12 minutes and they turned out nice and soft inside. I loved the taste! I will definitely be making this again. Oh and I used salted whole macadamia nuts that I chopped into various sizes, but didn't leave any whole- this worked really well. I got exactly 22 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States