White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I made this recipe just as written and the cookies really are quite good. As usual, teaspoonsful of batter makes small cookies and a whole bunch of them. I used well rounded-to-heaping teaspoonsful and ended up with 94 cookies. And if you wait for the cookies to be golden brown on top, they will be charcoal on the bottom. I took them out of the oven as the edges showed the first sign of browning, and they were just right. Thanks for this recipe, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
As other suggested I used half butter half shortening. Next time I will use all butter and they turned out more cake like and I like the flatter kind of this cookie ( like Subways... yum!). I used half the almond ext which was perfect- any more and it would have been too overpowering. Next time I will cut the mac nuts down a bit and use extra white choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarazion
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I used whole wheat flour the first time I made this recipe and then white flour the second..I prefer the whole wheat flour SOO much more. The wheat flour gives it a heartier texture and flavor. I also added extra nuts and cut down the chips. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarazion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
These are FABULOUS! I followed the advice of other reviewers and added only 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. I set my oven for 10 mins at 350 but once it gave me that 1 min warning, I gave it a few seconds and took them out, and let them cool down a bit. They were perfect, still really soft. I used roasted and salted macadamia nuts, so I would omit the salt next time. If you're not huge on the almond extract, I would either substitute it for the vanilla extract or maybe 1/4 of a tsp instead, I found the almond extract a tad much, just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
My family loves these! I just wish the nuts were cheaper and we'd have them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Super yummy and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
The best cookies ever! I do not like doughy cookies- AT ALL! These were slightly more cake-like, but not doughy. So, so, so good! I have to say, so many people have said, "use half butter half shortening" no way! Use all butter- but don't melt it all the way. Just until it is soft, and make sure to get salted butter! Then make the dough. And I personally love flat cookies, so I baked these right away. But if you wanted a thicker cookie you could put them in the freezer or fridge for a few minutes or hours. Also, these can freeze in a plastic container for about 2 weeks, so they are great cookies to make ahead of time! Oh, and the dough or the actual cookies can freeze. One more thing, shortening is not good for you one bit, and I am not saying that butter is, I am just saying- Butter Is Better! Anyhow, thanks for posting this Mary, your awesome! p.s. I liked them better with plain vanilla, not almond extract. And I used honey and xylitol in place of the sugar and brown sugar! Good Luck with these scrumptious cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarless Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
These were delicious! I used 3/4 cups organic butter and 1/4 cup shortening, and I used 1 tsp vanilla extract and no almond. These didn't spread, but they weren't cakey at all. They were sweet, delicious, thick, and moist. I baked them for exactly 10 minutes. The office devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These came out great, I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out just like the photo. Crispy crust and chewy insides. If your having issues with the cookies I'd recommend you check your technique, you must be doing something wrong. I'd recommend doing it all by hand, electric mixers can cause things to go wrong very quickly because the generate heat and can over mix your batter. If your cookies are running flat, it means your butter is melting before you bake. First check and be sure your using real butter, the only ingredients in it should be milk/cream, anything else and it's not butter! Your butter is ready for creaming when it's cool to the touch and when you press your finger against it, it should dent a little. Also when you pick it up it should have no trouble holding it's shape. When your creaming try not to place your hand by the bottom of the bowl, the heat from your hand can melt the butter to much. Also chilling your cookies just before baking can help it keeps it shape, but don't chill for to long, maybe a few mins. Baking soda goes to work immediately, so if you wait to long your cookies won't rise. If it's coming out cakey it's probably the shortening or too much baking soda (measure carefully!!!!) Hard/dense cookies are do to over mixing, to get that crisp and chewy texture you want to FOLD your dry ingredients in GENTLY a little at a time. Stirring or being aggressive will beat the gluten to much and change the texture of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I have just taken 2nd pan from the oven. My husband had to have 4 cookies while they were still very hot. I mixed recipe and baked 16-minutes with only one suggestion from other reviews. I chilled dough about 45-minutes before baking. This is a winner for my favorites. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 526) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States