White Chocolate Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I tried this cake because of the high rating and I wanted something light and fluffy; it ended up being like a pound cake. Not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Norris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Not what I was expecting!! In a great way!! This cake is like a creamy yummy fluffy goodness. The color was perfect the flavor was even better!! I used this frosting and filled it with the caramel filling from great aunt lizzies chocolate cake from this site...It was a huge hit both times i made it!! Thanks for a great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Carroll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I just made this cake for my daughter's birthday and the whole family loved it. However-- it is more almond than white chocolate (which we actually loved, so that was good for us) and it does need some tweaking. At 35 minutes the cake was over cooked. The flavor was still amazing-- but dryer than I would have liked. Next time I will start checking at 25 minutes. Also, next time I will be adding a little oil for added moisture and doubling the chocolate so the chocolate to almond ratio is more even. Lastly, I will be reducing the sugar in the cake. With the frosting-- it is a little over sweet. By reducing the sweet in the cake, I think it will balance a bit better. All in all though, I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Just tried this recipe and sadly it was a flop! Every thing went together perfectly and it looked great in the oven. I tried the suggestion of one reviewer to reduce cooking time to 30 minutes; tested and retested and it appeared done to perfection. But in less than the 10 minutes alloted to cool in the pan it dropped to half its size! Still looks nice and is held together, but I had planned to decorate extravagantly and take to a party this afternoon. It won't be worth the effort. Does anyone have an idea what might have gone wrong? Thanks! Actually, I've just check it again and tried a piece. Not a good taste at all! It is much too heavy and somewhat greasy. Is the granulated sugar causing this? How did anyone get any lift in this cake!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I made these to reveal to my son and his girlfriend the sex of their baby. I cored out the center and added pink frosting. ( A girl....Yeah) All the parents and step-parents were here and they were an absolute hit. The entire batch was gone before they all left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
The taste of the cake was good however it did not taste like white chocolate also I was expecting a moist cake and it was dry and crumbly. The frosting was a bit sweet for my taste however it did have a good white chocolate flavor and great consistency. I won't be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I thought this cake was very good but the cake was a little dry and I felt that the almond extract overpowered the white chocolate flavor. The next time I make it, I am using a little oil in the cake mixture, adding more white chocolate bark, and using vanilla extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PULCHRA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Finally I have found a cake recipe that I was so long seraching for! A fine crumb light cake that tastes good. Thank you so much for sharing. I shifted the flour 3 times with a sieb and I think that was the key to the excellent results. I was not sure how much 3 oz is and when I clicked metric the amount seemed "off" so I used 200 grams of white chocolate couverture. I can not get almond extract so I used Amaretto from Lake Garda. I think with proper Almond Extract this cake would just be dynamite! My son discovered the cake before I could even decorate it so we ate it as it was, without any frosting or topping and it rocked. The next time we had it with strawberries and whipped cream also excellent. I used this recipe with the white chocolate frosting for a christening cake and it was the hit! With recipes like this one I can not understand at all why people buy boxed cakes and then doctor them and think it tastes good. No box can compete with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I didn't care for this cake. Im so dissapointed that I chose this recipe. It was too too sweet. I couldnt taste the white chocolate at all and the almond extract is way too ovepowering. I had alot of cake left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casey_a_g
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Beautiful texture, great taste. After reading the reviews I fiddled around with the chocolate and sugar amounts: 4 ounces of chocolate and 50 grams less sugar, which worked beautifully. I will definitely make this part of my repertoire! Oh I also used vanilla instead of almond, I just can't see it working with the white chocolate otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States