White Chocolate Covered Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I just made these for Christmas gifts. I made the pretzels using pretzel rods, put them in a vase with a ribbon around it, and it looked so pretty. A few suggestions: 1) Be sure to use semi-sweet chocolate (I think). I used Trader Joe's milk chocolate chips and it didn't melt! I then used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chips and had no problem. 2) I don't suggest putting the chocolate in a glass beacause it was too think on the pretzels. Instead, I used a wooden spoon and spread the chocolate on each pretzel rod. 3) If you use toppings, be sure to sue VERY small pieces. I found that nut topping, sprinkles, and smashed peppermint worked the best. I tried using heath bar and mini-chocolate chips and they were too big. 4) Finally, if you do use topping, I would spoon it on instead of turning the rod in a pile of chocolate. When I rolled it in the nuts, sprinkles, etc the chocolate fell off and chunked up the mixture. Overall, a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
393 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
These are VERY yummy!! Do know that even though it says to use a 15 oz. bag of pretzels, this amount of chocolate will cover probably only 1/5 of them. I melted the chocolate along with 1 Tbsp. of shortening in the microwave for 1 minute and then stirred until smooth. The shortening keeps the chocolate smooth and it won't stick to the bowl. Then I sprinkled them with crushed candy cane and drizzled a little semi-sweet chocolate over the top. Not only are they delicious but they look beautiful! Next time I'll double the amount of chocolate so I can make more pretzels. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Love this recipe! I noticed a lot of reviews said that they would begin to melt when they were not in the fridge. I add a small amount (1-2 tsp) of shortening to the white chocolate when melting it - this helps to thin it a little bit and make it a little easier to work with, as well as to help with the melting problem. Dip the pretzels, put on wax paper-covered baking sheet and pop it in the freezer to harden. They won't melt at room temp! Enjoy this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I use this recipe with pretzel rods and it turns out great! A quick tip: put the chocolate in a tall glass and dip the pretzels in that way. It makes a more even appearance and you get more chocolate on it. I will also drizzle a different flavored chocolate over the pretzels along with crushed toffees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
I used milk chocolate chips instead, and melted them in a cup in the microwave with just a tiny sliver of butter. The consistancy was perfect. It just can't get any easier. I will definitely do this again. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2000
These are great to make and give as Christmas gifts. I use the large pretzel rods and add candy sprinkles, colored sugar sprinkles, or drizzle with dark chocolate. They are always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
A little time consuming but turned out great. Chocolate is a good consistancy. I halved the chocolate and colored one half green and one half red, I had left over squares so I drizzled white over the tops of the red and green pretzels. Festive for the holiday goody table! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Tasted fantastic! Used large breadstick style pretzels, and dipped about 1/2 of the stick. Everyone loved them. Next time I think I'll try them with crushed nuts. Easiest recipes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
Very easy to prepare. Great for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States