White Chocolate, Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
In my circle of friends it's a well known fact that I can bake anything except cookies. So you can imagine everyones surprise when they tasted these fabulous, chocolatey, yummy cookies. Finally, a cookie I can make without them being little crispy rocks. Update: I made these again today but copied the recipe down wrong and used baking powder instead of baking soda. Found the answer to the problem of them going flat. They came out all puffy and pretty. Next time I'll try half baking soda/half baking powder to see if it might improve the texture while maintaining shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This recipe has now become a favourite. I did make some changes, but I firmly believe this would've been an awesome cookie even without them -- so I gave it a full 5 stars. I did as others and used 1 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder. I also added 1 tsp vanilla. I used 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder and 3/4 cup dark cocoa powder. I cut the flour down to 1 1/4 cups and added a box of white chocolate instant pudding (about 1/2 cup). I added a teensy bit of salt, 1 cup white chips, a little over 1 cup semi-sweet chips, 1 1/4 cups coconut, 1/4 cup chopped glazed pecans, 3/4 cup chopped walnuts. I cooked them for 9 minutes, which was perfect for my oven. I also rolled mine into balls so they'd be little puffed-up balls since I don't like flat cookies. These are the ultimate craving-killing cookies. They were amazingly soft, perfectly sweet, and very addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPenguinStar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This is the best cookie ever! I made it for a bake sale, and all he other cookies and cakes were hardly eaten by the end of the sale and these were eaten in 5 minutes (on the clock!) I wouldn't bake them for even a second more than it says in the recipe - the cookies come out of the oven strangely soft, but they harden within a few minutes. These are just the right texture and flavour - not too chewy but not too hard, and just the right amount of sweetness. I recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Excellent. I did my usual "healthy" substitutions (half the flour and add that amount in whole wheat; half the butter and add that amount in applesauce) and they came out soft, just the way I like cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Everyone who I shared these cookies with loved them! They disappeared quite quickly. I also added 1 tsp of baking soda and 1 tsp of baking powder as reccomended and the cookies were very chewy... just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I added a little salt and vanilla. The recipe made much more than 3 doz. Got rave reviews from family and friends but they flattened like little chocolate pancakes. I made a doz and then refrigerated the leftover dough overnight. The cold dough did not keep them from being flat. Tasted good but looked kinda funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Definitely a keeper. These chewy, fudgy decadent cookies are just what a chocoholic is looking for. I took them out of the oven at 8 minutes even though they seemed quite soft. After they'd cooled completely they were crispy around the edges and soft and chewy on the inside. I had rainbow coloured chips that I wanted to use up so substituted them for the white chocolate. The white chocolate would be nicer, though, and I'll definitely use it the next time, but will substitute chopped white chocolate for the chips. I like the way the white chocolate chunks spread a bit while the coolies are baking. Thanks for a delicious treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Best ever-like a chewy dark chocolate brownie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
I decided to alter the recipe and use mint chocolate chips instead of white ones. Yummy! My kids loved it. Has the flavor of Girl Scouts Thin Mints with the texture of traditional chocolate chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
These were just ok. Very crumbly and dry. Had good flavor but the texture was more cake like than cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States