White Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This recipe was one I have used over and over many times. In place of using the white chips, I have subtituted butterscotch chips instead. Of all the cookies I have made this one is requested the most often. May I also present a hint I have used while cooking these-oven temp. set to 350 degrees and cook cookies for 10 minutes. They are delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I thought this recipe was just wonderful! I did add a few "creative" touches that my husband really enjoyed. I cut the white chocoloate chips in half (only 1 cup) and added 1 cup of Craisins (great color for the holidays). I also cut the nuts in half (1/2 cup of nuts) and added 1/2 cup of coconut. I drizzled the cookies with an orange glaze (just orange juice and confectioners sugar). They disappeared in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
WOW - what a cookie! This cookie is now in high demand, it's so super-delicious! I recommend using chopped white chocolate bars for a chunkier, more professional look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
OH MY GOODNESS! Honestly the best cookie I've ever had, and I've tried A LOT. I split the dough in half and did dried cranberry/white chocolate and the other half butterscotch/chocolate chip. Both were awesome, but the flavor of the butterscotch/chocolate was like an explosion of the best flavor I've ever tasted:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
These cookies are delicious and went very, very fast. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and substituted 1/2 the butter for applesauce to make them a little healthier and they were still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I made this recipe tonight making some with cinnamon chips, some with M&M's, and some with white chocolate chips. I thought that this recipe sounded familiar, and the words "disappearing cookies" tipped me off. This is almost identical to the Quaker Oats Vanishing Oatmeal Cookie recipe. The main difference is this one has more white sugar, has baking powder, and the flour & oat amounts are reversed. If you don't grease the pan, the cookies won't spread. I think next time I will use the Quaker oat recipe instead. I like cookies with more oats, and one reviewer did comment that these were too sweet, and maybe the cinnamon will add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
OUTSTANDING!!! Use real butter for proper texture and incredible taste. I toasted both the pecans and the oats, which made the flavor pop. Line a cookie sheet with foil, shiny side DOWN. Put the pecans in a single layer. Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 5 minutes. Turn the pecans over with pancake turner and bake for another 5 minutes, or until they become fragrant. Do the same for the oats, spreading them out as thinly as possible on the cookie sheet. I then chopped the pecans and oats by pulsing them together in the food processor. Toasting results in a fabulous, toffee-like flavor. Makes these extraordinary. You can toast a pound of pecans on a single 11"X17" cookie sheet, then freeze after cooling so they're ready whenever you want to bake these cookies. Ditto for the oats. Bag them in 1-1/2 cup portions in a zip-lock sandwich baggie for convenience. No need to even thaw them before incorporating them in the dough. Everyone loves these. They will make your reputation as a baker. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This is a fantastic recipe! I added approximately 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, since I believe all oatmeal cookies should be spiced.... They turned out unbelievably good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
A definite winner! To a cookie novice like me this recipe is simple yet failproof enough to yield a batch of impressive cookies that rival store-bought ones. I have even made a couple w/o the white morsels and they're still terrific. Not to mention, the cookie dough is great too (smells just like Haagan-Daaz butter pecan ice cream...yumm) However, I did let the dough rest in the refrigerator for 45 minutes before I shape them out on the cookie sheet. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Oh my!! Sooooo good!! I used white choco chips from Trader Joe's, but I only had one cup, so for the rest I chopped up part of a large chunk of Ghiradeli's white chocolate. I used 1 cup of whole wheat pastry flour. So, so good! Loved the combo of oats, nuts, and white chocolate. I didn't find the dough too crumbly or dry at all. It does get quite stiff but if I can mix it, anyone can! I only added nuts to half because I'm giving some away. I'm sure I will make these cookies many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States