White Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Absolutely terrible, wasn't sweet, more like a cornbread flavor. Very flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Seay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by omgitsashley
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
the actual cake is delicious. Very dense and very rich but still moist. After reading the reviews, I actually let the entire mixture sit overnight in the refrigerator before I started frosting. Upon tasting it the next morning, I felt the white chocolate icing would be too much. So I made a cream cheese frosting (which didn't have time to set as the white chocolate one did. Next time I will plan to leave it in the fridge longer) and just added a little of the chilled white chocolate mixture. I topped with some pecans and man it was a huge hit! Hence the giant slice that's missing before I could get the picture : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Have made this cake many times over the years. I love it's heaviness because it is so evident it is a scratch cake, vs. a tasteless, weightless box cake. I have dressed it out in different ways such as a raspberry curd spread added to the middle with a few raspberries around the top. Why do a basic white cake when you can do this??? I'll never go back. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Louise
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I used this recipe for cupcakes and followed the suggestion of letting the frosted cakes set at room temp for 24 hours. Everyone who tried them was amazed at how great they were. I did a poke cake with a few and spooned on a raspberry reduction. Those also got rave reviews. I highly suggest this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna Lyerly
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
My family says this is the best cake I've ever baked! My daughter requested a white chocolate and raspberry cake for her birthday. I chose this white chocolate recipe and added fresh raspberries over a layer of organic raspberry jam on the top. The acid from the berries really helped cut the sweetness of the cake. I was very trepidatious about baking this cake giving the differing reviews, but with my husband's help we were able to follow Donna's thorough instructions to a very positive outcome - without her instructions I'm sure the outcome and thus my review would have been vastly different. I would suggest the cake recipe be revised to include all the tips and hints of some of the contributors so that more novice bakers (like myself) can have a fair chance at a positive experience. Again, I thank "Donna" for her input - the recipe isn't sufficient without instructions. But - the cake was tasty and heavy (rich not fallen or greasy) and the icing worked like a charm and was more than sufficient to cover the cake. If you want to try adding raspberries, I used a layer of Bonne Maman preserves between the cake and on top, and then topped with fresh raspberries. ~ (another) Donna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Lyerly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This cake is amazing!!! My family asks me to make this cake every week now. I didn't use the frosting in this recipe. I made a cream cheese and whipped cream frosting (the recipe is on this site) then put strawberries on top. yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I followed the directions and this cake turned out great. It was super moist and the flavors were throughout the cake. I made it for. Christmas and everyone loved it! A few notes. You have to let the white chocolate cool down before adding to cake mixture. The does seem "greasy" at first however it has to sit for a few hours to get just right. I also did not follow the directions for the icing completely. I melted the white chocolate by itself and not with the flour and milk. I added the white chocolate to the butter and sugar mix and more of the flavor came out this way. Overall a very delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is very time consuming. It it greasy, the icing is not like whipped cream. I also did not like the taste. Didn't not have a white chocolate taste. I followed to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Wasn't a fan of this recipe. The cake was quite nice, but the frosting was a nightmare for me. I did everything it said and it came out nothing like it was meant to. It says that the chocolate and milk mixture should be "very thick" when heated which just didn't happen at all for me, and even though I cooled the mixture completely and added it very gradually it curdled horrifically into a scrambled egg like mess and I had to whip up some buttercream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The cake was good.. I did not enjoy the frosting.. I think a white chocolate ganash would have worked better on this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States