White Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I made this with a Strawberry Buttercream for my daughter's 13th birthday party. All the girls loved it. I'll try this with cupcakes and maybe a lavender buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Every time I make this cake it is a hit. I use a different icing. I use 10 oz of cream cheese, 1 1/3 sticks of butter, a box of confectioners sugar, a dab of vanilla, and a splash of buttermilk. Also, to add a little more flavor to the cake I add a few drops of rum extract and some vanilla. I also toast coconut at 350 while tossing it until its nice and brown and has a little crunch to place on top of the icing. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Kids requested a white chocolate cake... Searched recipes and read reviews. Saw this recipe and thought this was going to be the ticket. Baked this cake exactly as it said. Chili dinner started before I had time to frost the cake. One of the kids took a nibble of the cake before we sat down and asked why we weren't having the corn bread with dinner? Next time we have chili I'll be sure to make this instead of corn bread. AWESOME CORNBREAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This made a wonderful cake for a fancy dinner party. I followed the suggestions of the comments (use a heavy duty mixer, have the butter at room temperature, allow chocolate to cool completely, whip like mad, etc.) and it turned out delicious. My only negative comment would be that the icing isn't pure white if you add black vanilla to it. So get some clear vanilla if you want a formal-looking white icing. I put crushed candy canes on the top of mine for a Christmas accent which was not only festive-looking, but also tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Stobbe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I'm waiting to taste the cake and icing together but they are both good on their own. I've made it in advance for our get-together tomorrow. If you beat the icing enough, the icing will lose it's graininess, though it might make more sense to use powdered sugar. Besides that, the cake was expensive to make and very time-consuming, but is worth both the time and the cost. Having everything at room temperature is very important and you may want to plan for a minimum of three hours time with the cooling and the beating. You may not wish to multi-task while making this one. I recommend putting down parchment paper due to the sugar content as both my cakes stuck (they usually don't). Also, you may want to consider relating the cake from the pan after ten minutes of cooling time. My frosting was very light and airy like white chocolate flavored whipped cream. I wanted it to be slightly heavier so I think using powdered sugar or heavy cream might help that. Mind you, I haven't tasted the settled product all together so I will have to post back later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This cake is insanely delicious. I think I will cut down the sugar next time, as the white chocolate I used might have been too sweet (I used Lindt). Other than that - OMG!! The roux icing was to die for. SO making this for my daughter's birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chardae Taylor
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I'm rating the cake only since I made my own version of a white chocolate frosting. But this cake was amazing. I made strawberry white chocolate cupcakes with this recipe. I didn't alter it at all. I did make sure to really cream the butter sugar mixture to add fluffiness to the cake. They came out so buttery, flavorful, and fluffy. So delicious!! Wondering if I should use this for a go to vanilla recipe. I think the white chocolate adds a decadent rich flavor that I haven't tasted before in a cake. So heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chardae Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Absolutely terrible, wasn't sweet, more like a cornbread flavor. Very flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Seay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by omgitsashley
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
the actual cake is delicious. Very dense and very rich but still moist. After reading the reviews, I actually let the entire mixture sit overnight in the refrigerator before I started frosting. Upon tasting it the next morning, I felt the white chocolate icing would be too much. So I made a cream cheese frosting (which didn't have time to set as the white chocolate one did. Next time I will plan to leave it in the fridge longer) and just added a little of the chilled white chocolate mixture. I topped with some pecans and man it was a huge hit! Hence the giant slice that's missing before I could get the picture : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Have made this cake many times over the years. I love it's heaviness because it is so evident it is a scratch cake, vs. a tasteless, weightless box cake. I have dressed it out in different ways such as a raspberry curd spread added to the middle with a few raspberries around the top. Why do a basic white cake when you can do this??? I'll never go back. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Louise
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States