White Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This cake is amazing!!! My family asks me to make this cake every week now. I didn't use the frosting in this recipe. I made a cream cheese and whipped cream frosting (the recipe is on this site) then put strawberries on top. yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I followed the directions and this cake turned out great. It was super moist and the flavors were throughout the cake. I made it for. Christmas and everyone loved it! A few notes. You have to let the white chocolate cool down before adding to cake mixture. The does seem "greasy" at first however it has to sit for a few hours to get just right. I also did not follow the directions for the icing completely. I melted the white chocolate by itself and not with the flour and milk. I added the white chocolate to the butter and sugar mix and more of the flavor came out this way. Overall a very delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is very time consuming. It it greasy, the icing is not like whipped cream. I also did not like the taste. Didn't not have a white chocolate taste. I followed to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Wasn't a fan of this recipe. The cake was quite nice, but the frosting was a nightmare for me. I did everything it said and it came out nothing like it was meant to. It says that the chocolate and milk mixture should be "very thick" when heated which just didn't happen at all for me, and even though I cooled the mixture completely and added it very gradually it curdled horrifically into a scrambled egg like mess and I had to whip up some buttercream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The cake was good.. I did not enjoy the frosting.. I think a white chocolate ganash would have worked better on this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I only made the frosting and here's what I have to say. The instructions are not very good. The white chocolate, milk, and flour need to be put in a heatproof bowl and heated over a pan of water. The mixture never got thick for me. However, after about 15 min I said forget it and took it off the heat to cool. I cooled it in the fridge for about 20 min. The butter mixture needs to be beat at med/high speed for about 4 min, then I added the white chocolate mixture and beat for another 2 min. It was the correct consistency then. I tasted it and thought it should have more of a white chocolate taste and I didn't like the fact that I could taste the sugar crystals. I'm going to put it in the fridge tonite and frost a cake tomorrow. I'm sure it will be fine but I think I'll look for another white chocolate frosting recipe. Let me know if you have one. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is a wonderful cake. Even my 28 year old grandson,( who doesn't like anything") loved it.There is no "grease". This is a keeper. If you want an "instant" cake, buy a mix.This cake shows effort and love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Other reviewers are on spot about the frosting. This is not one of those recipes you can make and have the same day. You really do need to make the frosting a day or two before the cake. It's a process, but worth it. I bet that frosting would even taste good on carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I wish I read more of the reviews before I made this cake. Taste-wise it is delicious but it was a lot of work to save the day. I have been baking for almost 50 years and have never had such a disaster of a cake! Too much batter for 9-inch pans,took longer to baked then specified, fell apart coming out of the pans, icing way to runny and the final straw after making this as presentable as possible the frosted cake cracked in half! I will NEVER make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I am a regular baker. I found this recipe easy to follow and made it for my daughter's teen bday party. I received the best raves (you know teeangers..so hard to please now-a-days). I put a twist on the recipe. My daughter wanted a more "strawberry shortcake" flavor, so I got some good ol' fashioned cool-whip, put a layer with some strawberries in the middle and iced the remaining cake with cool whip, topped with strawberries. The cool-whip hold's it's form better than Whipped cream icing and does not get watery after a few days. BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States