White Chocolate Blueberry Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I have made this cheesecake several times and it has been devoured each time. The important thing to note is that it must be refrigerated overnight because thickening occurs as it gets COLD, not as it cools in the oven to room temperature. I think the first reviewer did NOT follow the instructions on cooling properly. You must make this recipe the day before it is to be served or it will not be firm enough to cut properly. It also tastes good and looks beautiful without the blueberry topping- substitute drizzled caramel topping as used in the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
I followed the directions on the crust, and the cooking time and I even took an extra step and whipped creme for an additional topping. When this cheesecake cooled, it was runny and undone. (in fact, I had left it in the oven for an additional 5 min. cooking time before I turned off the oven and let it cool in there) I felt like it was a waste of ingredients and it was a dessert for company so it was disappointing to cut into it and have the consistancy of pudding. Due to all the egg yolk and eggs in it, I scraped off the whip creme and returned it to the oven and sent company home without dessert. For cheesecake it had the appearance of being done-but was runny on the inside and the crumbs didn't hold together like a cheesecake crust should-it was like sand. Too much work-too expensive-too bad! I cannot think of anything I did wrong on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
With some alterations. Eliminated one egg. I used 3 eggs and 2 egg yolks. I cooked it according to the instructions, but after an hour it was still very loose. Raised the temp to 325 degrees and cooked for another 15 to 20 minutes (watch over it). When golden and appeared more firm, I lowered temp back to 275 for about 10 minutes to ensure filling was set. Followed cooling directions as written. For topping, I substituted the blueberries with strawberries and then drizzled melted white chocolate over top for presentation. Also did not use almonds in the crust. GOT RAVE REVIEWS FROM GUESTS. Definitely a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This was excellent. I also increased the oven temperature to 300 degrees and kept it in about 10 minutes longer. I found that I had to double the clarified butter to get the crust to a consistency that I could press it into the pan - but it was great. I think I will double the sauce next time - I ran out and had to use pie filling - the sauce is truly worth it. It was quite big so I cut it into slices and froze it - it thawed beautifully. My husband raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JessicaT
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Fantastic. This is my first time baking a whole cheesecake and i couldn't be more pleased. i baked it for my sister's birthday celebration and all her friends loved it and complimented me profusely...(one even cliamed he was going to have a food orgasm haha)I followed the recipe exactly (except I did not have a food processor so I used my blender for the crust) but found that I had to bake it for an extra 20 minutes or so at 300 degrees, then turned off oven and left cake inside to let it cool for about half an hour before opening the door a crack. I let it sit like that for approximately another hour, then took it out and let it sit on the counter for a bit to finish cooling. I did not have time to refrigerate it overnight, but the few hours it had in the fridge was enough. I could not believe it: no cracks (even though I was lazy and did not use a water bath) and no sinking! I smothered some blueberry topping around the border, drizzled on melted white chocolate chips, wrote on it with icing and garnished it with 16 blueberries that I saved, it looked really nice and tasted even better. Oh yeah and I used chocolate graham crackers for the crust, yum! My friends and I are both raving over this cheesecake, look how long this comment is! Excellent recipe, I only wish I could give more than 5 stars! I will definitely be using this recipe again and again! THanks Scott for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was very very very good, and I got rave reviews at the potluck I took it too. I used canned blueberry pie filling for the topping, because I had it on hand and actually was looking for a recipe to use it in when I found this one... It is a little time consuming, and truthfully there are other similar recipes on this site that you get *almost* as good results, so I'm not sure how often I will take the extra time to make it, but it will stay in my books as one of my all time best creations! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I made this cheesecake for our church's 4th of July baking contest and won a blue ribbon! It turned out perfectly with the additional 20 minutes in the oven. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
This was fantastic. I savored every bite (and took too many). It was my first cheesecake and I followed the suggestions to cook it longer. We liked the fact that the cake was not as dense as what you would get in a restaurant. And the crust was outstanding. One comment, I did have to work to get the caramel evenly distributed throughout the crust. And I had to look up how to clarify butter. But it was worth it. And I never expected a cheesecake to be easy. Also, one of my cream cheese blocks was 1/3 less fat. It did not seem to affect the flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
This was absolutely fantastic. EVERYONE loved it. I melted the white chocolate in the microwave on med-high for about 4 minutes total, stiring every minute. The taste is like from a fine restaurant. I would have cooked it a little longer before turning oven off and opening the door. Texture would have been a little firmer. But I definately would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I made this last night and couldn't wait to cut into it this morning.. It is delicious and my family loves it! I baked it for an hour at 275 degrees and it was very loose in the middle. So I turned the temp up to 300 and left it in there for another 20-25 minutes and checked it constantly.. The cheesecake and blueberry sauce is awesome, but my crust came out VERY chewy and even a bit hard in some places.. I'm sure it was something I did to it! Hopefully the crust will be better next time.. Will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States