White Chocolate Amaretto Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I made this for a ladies' luncheon. These ladies love desserts and really look forward to trying new ones. I personally thought it was just so-so, and this impression was confirmed by the comments it received, just polite "It was good" rather than profuse praise and recipe requests that a lot of desserts have been met with. No one went back for seconds, and not one of 8 ladies requested the recipe. Usually out of that group at least 1 or 2 like a dessert so much that they ask for the recipe. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
MOUTHWATERING!!! I make alot of recipes off of Allrecipes but only rate/review the ones that get 4 or 5 stars. Ya know "If you don't have something nice to say,don't say anything at all." Well, I have plenty of nice things to say about this one! DELICIOUS. I made it for a potluck today and, while there was alot of dessert there, not a crumb left of this cake. I will treasure it! Oh, and by the way, White Chocolate flavored pudding was not available at my store so I used Cheesecake flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I was going to make two of these for two separate get togethers. On the first one, I followed the directions, but the cake ended up so soggy with the glaze that it stuck to the pan and came out in pieces. Needless to say it was ruined. For the second one, I removed it from the pan before applying the glaze. It came out fine, and it had a great amaretto flavor. Overall, I don't think the cake was worth the effort, and I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Fabulous! To avoid the sticking problem, I removed the cake (still very warm) from the pan, then immediately put the cake back in the pan (lining up the ridges carefully. I had added about a half a cup of whic chocolate chunks to the batter before baking, and only the chunks had stuck at all to the pan. I did not have any problems with the glaze, even after boiling for the full 10 minutes. I applied the glaze to the warm cake as directed, and let it cool in the pan for about an hour before inverting onto a platter. For frosting, I made a simple icing with powdered sugar, milk, and amaretto. Sprinkled toasted almond slices over the top -- beautiful and received many, many complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
i had never even heard of this cake before but decided to make and enter it in a baking contest "it won first placei was so excited. I highly recommend you make a day or two before because i beleive that makes it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Yum! Very easy to make, and quite tasty. I couldn't find white chocolate pudding, so I used regular chocolate pudding and it turned out fine. Because of some prior reviews, I worried about the cake sticking to the pan, therefore, I greased and floured the pan before pouring in the batter. Still, the cake didn't fall out of the pan until I loosened ALL of the edges with a knife. I thought the glaze might make it a little too rich, so I only used half - next time, I'll use it all, the extra flavor is delicious! I don't make desserts often, but this is a keeper! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I took this cake to a large family Easter dinner and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. It turned out fabulous and not too difficult to make. I had no difficulty with the cake sticking to the pan at allas others have said. (i sprayed liberally the "pam with flour for baking" and the cake slid right out. I used a little more amaretto and less water than the recipe calls for and i added a cup of white chocolate chips to the batter. DELICIOUS AND AMAZING--you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This was great, but super duper sweet! I usually make about another 1/3 of the glaze and add a little salt. I use an injector so the glaze really soaks in throughout cake, and you don't get all those ugly holes. Instead of pre-packaged frosting, I used 3oz cream cheese, powdered sugar, and milk. Put it in a plastic bag and drizzle over the cooled cake. Be sure to use the cheapest amaretto you can find! I first used Disarono, ($25) and got two cakes out of it. I have found ammaretto as cheap as $6 for the same size bottle, and you can't tell the high quality amaretto from the cheaper brands. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I thought this cake was absolutely delicious and my guests raved about it. It was also really easy. I took it out of the pan after cooling for about 15 minutes and then put the glaze on it. It came out of the pan perfect and looked beautiful with the frosting and toasted almonds on it. I used the pourable vanilla frosting and added about a tsp of almond extract cause I really like that almond flavor. The only downside was the expense; I used a whole $12 bottle of amaretto in addition to the other ingredients, so this is definitely a special occasion only treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
very good! I made it as a three-layer cake and skipped the fancy frosting (just used vanilla). excellent and very easy that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States