White Chocolate Amaretto Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I do a lot of baking, especially cakes. I was so excited when I prepared this recipe. I skipped the glaze, and used my own amaretto flavored buttercream icing instead. I was disappointed when I tasted it; the flavor was good, but no better than results I get with packaged mix that has pudding it it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
FABULOUS! when you make this cake, make sure you pierce many large holes in the cooked cake so the amaretto mixture will seep into the cake. this will allow your cake to be "spongy" and slightly wet throughout. this cake will be made in my home frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Fabulous! To avoid the sticking problem, I removed the cake (still very warm) from the pan, then immediately put the cake back in the pan (lining up the ridges carefully. I had added about a half a cup of whic chocolate chunks to the batter before baking, and only the chunks had stuck at all to the pan. I did not have any problems with the glaze, even after boiling for the full 10 minutes. I applied the glaze to the warm cake as directed, and let it cool in the pan for about an hour before inverting onto a platter. For frosting, I made a simple icing with powdered sugar, milk, and amaretto. Sprinkled toasted almond slices over the top -- beautiful and received many, many complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
very moist, dense and delicious. i boiled the glaze for ten minutes and what i got wasn't glaze, but toffee. it looked nice and tasted great but was essentially like coating the cake in candy. needless to say, i didn't add frosting or almonds. i think the cake would have been much better with the frosting drizzled on and almonds added; or with a much smoother glaze and the almonds. any vanilla frosting would surely be overkill. everyone loved it, but if i make it again, i'd definitely tinker with the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Baked it during the holidays. Everyone loved it. Baked it as directed. May experiment, but as is, is great. I did not wait as long for cake to sit, and this allowed it to retain moisture. Also, I did not have trouble getting the cake out of the bundt pan. I first sprayed the bundt pan with flour cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Flint

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great recipe. I used vanilla pudding because I had it on hand. I also omitted the frosting at the end. It was quite tasty. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Absolutely wonderful!! Easy to make and made a beutiful presentation. Very moist. Made exactly as instucted and will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I didn't like this at all, followed the recipe exactly. Tasted too "boxed" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I used 3/4 amaretto and 1/4 water and i added about 1.5 cups of white chocolate chips.. it was sooo good! when i made the glaze i used less sugar because of the addition of white chocolate chips and i skipped the frosting. I like this better than the rum cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACEGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This was great, but super duper sweet! I usually make about another 1/3 of the glaze and add a little salt. I use an injector so the glaze really soaks in throughout cake, and you don't get all those ugly holes. Instead of pre-packaged frosting, I used 3oz cream cheese, powdered sugar, and milk. Put it in a plastic bag and drizzle over the cooled cake. Be sure to use the cheapest amaretto you can find! I first used Disarono, ($25) and got two cakes out of it. I have found ammaretto as cheap as $6 for the same size bottle, and you can't tell the high quality amaretto from the cheaper brands. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States