White Chocolate Amaretto Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Fabulous! To avoid the sticking problem, I removed the cake (still very warm) from the pan, then immediately put the cake back in the pan (lining up the ridges carefully. I had added about a half a cup of whic chocolate chunks to the batter before baking, and only the chunks had stuck at all to the pan. I did not have any problems with the glaze, even after boiling for the full 10 minutes. I applied the glaze to the warm cake as directed, and let it cool in the pan for about an hour before inverting onto a platter. For frosting, I made a simple icing with powdered sugar, milk, and amaretto. Sprinkled toasted almond slices over the top -- beautiful and received many, many complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
very moist, dense and delicious. i boiled the glaze for ten minutes and what i got wasn't glaze, but toffee. it looked nice and tasted great but was essentially like coating the cake in candy. needless to say, i didn't add frosting or almonds. i think the cake would have been much better with the frosting drizzled on and almonds added; or with a much smoother glaze and the almonds. any vanilla frosting would surely be overkill. everyone loved it, but if i make it again, i'd definitely tinker with the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Baked it during the holidays. Everyone loved it. Baked it as directed. May experiment, but as is, is great. I did not wait as long for cake to sit, and this allowed it to retain moisture. Also, I did not have trouble getting the cake out of the bundt pan. I first sprayed the bundt pan with flour cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Flint

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great recipe. I used vanilla pudding because I had it on hand. I also omitted the frosting at the end. It was quite tasty. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Absolutely wonderful!! Easy to make and made a beutiful presentation. Very moist. Made exactly as instucted and will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I didn't like this at all, followed the recipe exactly. Tasted too "boxed" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I used 3/4 amaretto and 1/4 water and i added about 1.5 cups of white chocolate chips.. it was sooo good! when i made the glaze i used less sugar because of the addition of white chocolate chips and i skipped the frosting. I like this better than the rum cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACEGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This was great, but super duper sweet! I usually make about another 1/3 of the glaze and add a little salt. I use an injector so the glaze really soaks in throughout cake, and you don't get all those ugly holes. Instead of pre-packaged frosting, I used 3oz cream cheese, powdered sugar, and milk. Put it in a plastic bag and drizzle over the cooled cake. Be sure to use the cheapest amaretto you can find! I first used Disarono, ($25) and got two cakes out of it. I have found ammaretto as cheap as $6 for the same size bottle, and you can't tell the high quality amaretto from the cheaper brands. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Great cake and fabulous presentation. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Embrun, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This cake is awesome! We like our cakes strong so I omitted the water and substituted Amaretto. It was a hit! The trick to getting the cake out of the pan is: hold the pan over a hot burner (use your hot mitts) this melts the butter enough to loosen the cake from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States