White Chocolate Amaretto Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
It tasted delicious, but man did I feel ridiculous spending hours making this and half of the cake came out of the bundt pan, while the rest hung on for a bit more fun? I had to improvise, so I cut out the rest of the cake (for shame), and didn't frost it (couldn't). I layered it in a flat portable cake dish, and mixed cool whip and crushed raspberries to layer on top. I sprinkled unmixed raspberries on top of that. It tastes good, folks, with no frosting and the fresh berries, if you're worried about the "sweet" factor. The only reason I gave it 3 stars is because of the bundt disaster, after having to take forever to cook stuff. I feel like it's a one shot deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIEDRASPR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caguas, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Made this cake for a family birthday and it was a great success. I personally found it a bit too sweet, but I was the only one. Everyone came back for seconds and I could see my husband trying to discourage people from having more (so he could have the leftovers!) Thank you for a recipe that I know I will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I followed the directions and used powdered sugar on top instead of frosting and slivered almonds in fear of the cake being too sweet. The cake smelled wonderful, and it tasted heavenly. I received so many compliments and everyone went back for seconds and thirds! I will absolutely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This is so easy to make and tastes wonderful. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I made this cake for my husband that doesn't like milk chocolate. He and I both loved it. I used both glazes and thought it was great. My husband likes it with ice cream as well. I forgot to mix the chips in the batter, so added them on the top of the cake after it baked for 15 minutes. Turned out good that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
received great compliments on this recipe! easy to make and smells delicious when baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This cake had really great flavor, even though neither my husband nor I could really taste the chocolate. I greased and floured the pan and the cake came out with minimal coaxing. As a previous reviewer said, poke as many holes into the cakes as possible; I thought I poked a lot, but a lot of the glaze ended up on the bottom of the cake and it would have been better in the cake itself. When I make this again, I will probably use either the glaze or the frosting but not both; it was a little too sweet for us. Great cake overall, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I brought this to a dinner party along with another dessert from this website. Both were gobbled up, but this cake was for sure the favorite. People could not stop talking about it and some went back for thirds! I followed the recipe exactly. I did use Pam with flour to prevent sticking and threw in some chopped white chocolate chips for added gooeyness. I know I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I made this cake for a church function. I did not have a bundt pan, so I used a tube pan which worked out fine. I did grease and flour the pan but the cake still stuck even after the 2 hr cool time. Next time I make it, I will
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I took this cake to a large family Easter dinner and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. It turned out fabulous and not too difficult to make. I had no difficulty with the cake sticking to the pan at allas others have said. (i sprayed liberally the "pam with flour for baking" and the cake slid right out. I used a little more amaretto and less water than the recipe calls for and i added a cup of white chocolate chips to the batter. DELICIOUS AND AMAZING--you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States