White Chili with Ground Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I've made this chili recipe at least 5 times and it just gets better and better. I always add extra cayenne pepper and cinammon to give it additional flavor, and I add a small can of corn. Mixing both black and white beans is a good touch too. And don't forget to reduce the amount of chicken broth to your desired thickness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
652 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I only used 1/2 of the cinnamon called for and am glad; I think using the full amount would have been too much, but with half of it, it created a really nice complex flavor with the cumin and the green chiles. Also, I drained and rinsed the beans, I always do this because it helps reduce some of the sodium in canned beans and it gets rid of that yucky starchy gooey liquid. Even without the bean liquid, I still only used 3 cups of stock and that was plenty. I did mash one can of beans with a fork instead of pureeing it, and I only added about 1/2 cup of cheese to the soup. I didn't think it was necessary to put 2 cups of cheese in it and add all that fat; I left the rest of the cheese out for us to add a little to each of our bowls. My husband ate three bowls of this the first night, so it is definitely a keeper, and I didn't think I would like white chili. what a great surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Definitely the best recipe I've found for white chili. I substituted diced chicken pieces for the ground turkey; added more beans; & since i didn't have green chilies, substituted Pepper Jack cheese for the Monterey jack & added a little Chipotle Chili Pepper for some zing. It's the combination of seasonings that make this dish so awesome. If you're tempted to leave out the cinnamon...DON'T! Threw some corn starch in to thicken, simmered for about 30 min.& served with rice,sour cream, extra cheese & corn chips. Thanks Donna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This recipe makes excellent white chili when slightly modified. The first time I made it I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out way too soupy with too much of a cinammon taste. I reduced the broth to 3 cups and the cinammon to a half teaspoon, per other reviews, and it was AWESOME! I took it to a chili potluck and got several compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I liked the different use of beans in this chili, instead of simply subsituting ground turykey for ground beef. I doubled the garlic, cumin and oregano, cut the chicken broth to 2 cups (I didn't want soup), omitted the jack cheese (I didn't have any) and simmered on the stove for hours to let the flavors blend. Served with mini corn bread muffins. When trying new recipes, I usually ask my husband: 'is this a make-agin?' The answer was 'yes'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This was outstanding. I did make some changes. I used crushed red pepper (all I had), I omitted the cinnamon and green chilies (I do not like the taste) and instead of the white beans I used mild chili beans. I also took other advice and only used about 1 15oz. can of chicken broth. That was the real clincher on the taste. It was wonderful. I would definetly make it again and again. Even my 2 year old ate it and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
My husband liked the flavor of this better than regular chili. To be honest, I was skeptical of the cinnamon, put it in anyway and didn't tell my husband. I used diced chicken breasts instead of the ground turkey because that is what i had on hand. it has really good flavor. I just wish that it was thicker like regular chili instead of like a bean soup. *7/03, made this again and subbed 3/4 cup uncooked rice for the beans and the liquid the same. Not chili anymore, but a really great spicy chicken and rice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I made this weeks ago and feel I've done a great disservice by not praising it immediately! I truly loved it both times I made it. I went w/ advice from others to cut down on the broth and only used 2 cups. It was soo cold out, so I made cornbread with it for a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This is an awesome recipe. I omitted the cinnamon and added a half pack of taco seasoning. It came out great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
varied the recipe quite a bit where it was no longer "white" (added red wine in place of one cup of chicken stock, ground chili in place of chile peppers, some tomatoes, curry, brown sugar, corn and substituted black beans in place of cannellini beans) but it still came out really well. the brown sugar was only added because i put too much chili - sweet to counteract the hot. the cinnamon is a lovely accent and you absolutely cannot forget the monterey jack cheese. wonderful blend of flavours. it did initially look watery, but i let it simmer for a good 30-45 mins longer than requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 752) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States