White Chili with Ground Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I did some modifications to this recipe. I don't eat turkey, so I used 1 pound of ground chicken meat instead. I am also very conscience of salt, so I used two cups of water instead of the chicken broth. I did not use the cinnamon, I only used two cans of rinsed white kidney beans and I did not puree a third can of beans. After simmering for 15 minutes, the water cooked out and the chili became thick and when I served it I used Colby Jack cheese and sour cream for garnishes. This could have been a filling for a burrito, since it was thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
My husband's favorite! I reduce the chicken broth and add in a cup of sour cream (or lf plain yogurt) and 1/2 cup of milk at the end of the cooking process. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
love it! added less chicken broth like others suggested and made it more like a thick chili. Added more broth to leftovers to make a soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was a decent chili but not my favorite white chili however, I did change it up a little bit. First, I only did one 15 oz. can of chicken broth to avoid it being like soup... I used 2 cans cannellini beans and one can of white beans (blended one of the cannellini). I had a red bell pepper that needed using so I added that. I only used half the amount of cinnamon (not a huge fan of it in savory dishes). And I used a taco blend for the cheese (cheddar and pepper jack blend). Served it with a dollop of sour cream, minced cilantro and tortilla chips. It was successfully consumed so I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was wonderful. Used jenni-0 Italian seasoned ground turkey and that gives even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I followed the recipe, with the exception of adding less than 5 cups of broth. Even with just 2 cups,this turned out more like soup than what I think of as chili. The flavor was wonderful. I love the addition of cinnamon and green chiles - a combo I never would have thought of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This is so quick, easy & delicious. I substituted a broasted chicken for the turkey to make it even easier. I will cut some of the water the next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I really liked this recipe! I was surprised but the blend of spices is wonderful. My husband doesn't eat beans so I added some almond flour to thicken it and reduced the broth to three cups. I will make this again for sure! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is a forgiving recipe adjust it to your tastes. I did not like the green chiles so I skip them instead I add in addition to the spices in the recipe chipolte pepper and some chili powder. I also add corn like another poster suggested and chopped fresh spinach at the end. If I have it on hand I substitute part of the ground turkey for sweet italian turkey sausage taken out of the casing. I have made this several times and have learned to put the browned meat, beans, corn, in the pot and add liquid as needed. Some posters have mentioned simmering the excess liquid I do at least 20 minutes to get those wonderful spices to blend. I have also noticed when you cool and refrigerate the beans soak some liquid up. This is great frozen and tastes even better the next day. I am on my 7th batch of this just love it. Do not be afraid of the cinnamon it adds a wonderful dimension to this recipe. I also like others have mentioned never add the cheese to the pot I just sprinkle it on top of the bowl when serving with a little bit of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Excellent, husband and I both loved it... will have a repeat performance in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States