White Chili with Ground Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was a decent chili but not my favorite white chili however, I did change it up a little bit. First, I only did one 15 oz. can of chicken broth to avoid it being like soup... I used 2 cans cannellini beans and one can of white beans (blended one of the cannellini). I had a red bell pepper that needed using so I added that. I only used half the amount of cinnamon (not a huge fan of it in savory dishes). And I used a taco blend for the cheese (cheddar and pepper jack blend). Served it with a dollop of sour cream, minced cilantro and tortilla chips. It was successfully consumed so I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was wonderful. Used jenni-0 Italian seasoned ground turkey and that gives even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I followed the recipe, with the exception of adding less than 5 cups of broth. Even with just 2 cups,this turned out more like soup than what I think of as chili. The flavor was wonderful. I love the addition of cinnamon and green chiles - a combo I never would have thought of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This is so quick, easy & delicious. I substituted a broasted chicken for the turkey to make it even easier. I will cut some of the water the next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I really liked this recipe! I was surprised but the blend of spices is wonderful. My husband doesn't eat beans so I added some almond flour to thicken it and reduced the broth to three cups. I will make this again for sure! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is a forgiving recipe adjust it to your tastes. I did not like the green chiles so I skip them instead I add in addition to the spices in the recipe chipolte pepper and some chili powder. I also add corn like another poster suggested and chopped fresh spinach at the end. If I have it on hand I substitute part of the ground turkey for sweet italian turkey sausage taken out of the casing. I have made this several times and have learned to put the browned meat, beans, corn, in the pot and add liquid as needed. Some posters have mentioned simmering the excess liquid I do at least 20 minutes to get those wonderful spices to blend. I have also noticed when you cool and refrigerate the beans soak some liquid up. This is great frozen and tastes even better the next day. I am on my 7th batch of this just love it. Do not be afraid of the cinnamon it adds a wonderful dimension to this recipe. I also like others have mentioned never add the cheese to the pot I just sprinkle it on top of the bowl when serving with a little bit of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Excellent, husband and I both loved it... will have a repeat performance in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This has become a go to easy meal in our house. It is a bit soupy so depending on my mood I may reduce the amount of broth or simply increase the amount of turkey and/or beans. I also puree the onions due to the kids picking them out otherwise, and I adjust the cinnamon to taste. I love that this chili can be enjoyed year round because it is so much lighter than the traditional beef and beans version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I made a few minor substitutions: omitted cinnamon, and white pepper, used mix of navy and garbanzo beans, used fresh oregano instead of dried, and added 2 habaneros cause we like a kick. It is a yummy dish. Even my husband gave it a 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I've made it several times and it's always a hit! It's become one of my signature dishes. I made a few changes: I omitted the cinnamon and I add balsamic vinegar to taste (appx. 1/4 cup for a big batch) for a little extra kick. The flavors complement each other perfectly, and I top it with cilantro, avocado, limes, shredded cheese, and sour cream, and serve it with a side of tortilla chips!! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 757) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States