White Chili with Ground Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made this with an extra can of beans and half the green chillies. It had just the right amount of 'bite' without being overwhelming. Everyone is on a diet in our house so I omitted the cheese and let people put what they wanted on top, for a lighter version. I would imagine this is very low calorie. It was EXTREMELY easy, quick and hearty. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
It had great flavor. I used chicken instead, but it was a very good and hearty dish. It reminds me of tortilla soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made this for a large group - 26 people, but even multiplying this recipe to 30, it was not enough as a main course. Good though! I cut the broth way down to about 25% and very little cinnamon. Topped with chopped onions and grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Tried this tonight for something different. Like nearly all the recipes I find here, I fine tune it to my liking. Instead of turkey, I used 1lb of ground chicken. I used 4 cups of chicken broth, reserving 1/2 cup to add 2 tbsp corn starch and make a roux to add later to thicken it up a bit. 5 cups of broth will definitely make this, "soup." I didn't include chilis or add the jack cheese, but otherwise used the recipe as it stood. I thought it was delicious! Definitely a departure from my traditional "red" chili that I make. Which is exactly why my wife didn't care for this recipe. I would have given it 5 stars if she had liked it better. She said it was okay, but liked the "red" chili better. Definitely give this a try if you want a break from "red" chili, beef stew or chicken noodle soup on a cool evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I added some chopped mushrooms when sauteing the turkey and onions. I'd actually call this more of a turkey mushroom soup rather than a chili. The cinnamon adds great depth of flavor. Cilantro would be a great addition next time. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz_skid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Husband approved - and he doesn't even like beans! I added some broth to the beans while pureeing to cut down on the paste factor. Also omitted the cinnamon because it made me nervous, and a hefty teaspoon of red pepper flakes without any cayenne on hand; salt & black pepper to taste. Went a little overboard on the garlic because we love and it doesn't overpower at all. I'll probably make this once a week, it's so tasty AND filling... but relatively guilt-free! Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I made a few minor changes like more garlic, small amount of nutmeg and cut back just a bit on the cinnamon because of the nutmeg. If you use good cinnamon, like Saigon, it doesn't come across as a cinnamon taste. It's more like a background taste. I also made it a little hotter with pepper flakes. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Not sure if I did something wrong but it was not good.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
great flavor!!! I don't really like ground turkey and prefer ground chicken - but this was awesome. I had a 1 lb pack of turkey - so scaled it down to 5 portions. Increased the cumin and oregano to 2 teaspoons - used 2 cups of chicken broth, 2 fresh jalapenos, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. Added the cayanne and white pepper to taste. Added some cilantro at the end, put the cheese on top instead of in with a little sour cream. Served over crushed tortillo chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pondersosa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is way too watery to be called chili. With 5 cups of broth this becomes a soup and is very unappetizing to look at. Very dissapointed in this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 776) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States