White Chili VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
When I first saw this recipe I didn't have much expectations for it. If anything I thought it would be severely lacking in flavour. I was pleasantly surprised that something SO simple could be SO good! I only made a subtle change and that was to use boneless, skinless chicken breasts that I pre-boiled. I will absolutely make this again!!! THANKS FOR THE SHARE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This chili is awesome and tastes really good. I used more chicken, though, and it could probably do with a bit less cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I love that this is so easy to throw together! I did use fresh skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, so I cooked on high instead for the 4-5 hrs to cook the chicken. Then we shredded the chicken and added it back into the crock pot. Great with a dollop of sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I'd give this 4 1/2 stars if I could - 5 stars are reserved for really awesome gourmet type stuff. We are camping in a motorhome and I was looking for a recipe using canned chicken that wasn't chicken salad. I had "most" of the ingredients onhand so here's what I used: 1 each 15 1/2 oz cans great northern beans and black beans, about 10 oz. of salsa (what was left in the jar in the fridge), 10 oz. can of chicken, about 1 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese - and I threw in a 4 oz. can of mild, diced green chili's. I put it all in a saucepan and heated it over medium heat till the cheese melted. It was delish! I'm amazed that this simple recipe was sooooo good. I'm usually a "from scratch" cook but this was so good I'm going to be making it often. Thanks, Nblanzy for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Great, easy recipe. I changed it slightly because I didn't have all of what the recipe originally called for. I used 1 16oz can of chili beans, 1 16oz can kidney beans and 1 16 oz can of the white kidney "cannellini" beans. Also used half pound of mexican shredded cheese instead of pepperjack. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Love how easy this recipe is! I used 2 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves instead of a can of chicken. I put them in the crock pot raw, then after 2 hours shredded them and added the meat back in for the remaining time. When there was about an hour left to go, I did a taste test and though the initial flavor was great, but then became pretty bland. So I added 1 Tbsp of oregano, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/8 tsp chili powder, 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes. The end result was delicious! A huge hit for my guests. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Yum yum! Didn't use a crockpot, just zapped in the microwave. Smaller portions, of course. I love how quick and easy this was! I'm sure it would be better with fresh chicken, but it was 11pm, we were tired, I was not about to simmer some chicken for what could be a 5 minute recipe. I used a reduced fat mexican cheese blend, and we ate with tortilla strips and fat free sour cream. I do feel like this needed more chicken, though. Even with a serving size of 2, and a 5 oz. can of chicken, I felt this needed more chicken. Only 8 oz. of chicken in 72 oz. of everything else.. It just doesn't seem nearly enough. I'll make this as a quick dinner or lunch often and will try the slow cooker method soon too, to see if the flavors are more prominent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyRJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
We really enjoyed this! I too used BLSL chicken breasts - maybe about 1 pound - and I used 2 15.5 oz cans of small white beans as that is what I had on hand. I'm thinking next time I will try it with more salsa. Very tasty as is though for something so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Delicious soup. I make this recipe, but my version does not have the pepperjack cheese added. I made a half batch of this using the cheese and the half without the cheese. Adding the cheese made this version a lot thicker and added more calories. But, once in a while, that is ok. This is a delicious recipe and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I served this with 'Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing' from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
So easy and so good!! Only thing I did differently was use chicken from a rotisserie chicken instead of canned chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States