White Chili VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
When I first saw this recipe I didn't have much expectations for it. If anything I thought it would be severely lacking in flavour. I was pleasantly surprised that something SO simple could be SO good! I only made a subtle change and that was to use boneless, skinless chicken breasts that I pre-boiled. I will absolutely make this again!!! THANKS FOR THE SHARE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This chili is awesome and tastes really good. I used more chicken, though, and it could probably do with a bit less cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I love that this is so easy to throw together! I did use fresh skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, so I cooked on high instead for the 4-5 hrs to cook the chicken. Then we shredded the chicken and added it back into the crock pot. Great with a dollop of sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
We really enjoyed this! I too used BLSL chicken breasts - maybe about 1 pound - and I used 2 15.5 oz cans of small white beans as that is what I had on hand. I'm thinking next time I will try it with more salsa. Very tasty as is though for something so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Great, easy recipe. I changed it slightly because I didn't have all of what the recipe originally called for. I used 1 16oz can of chili beans, 1 16oz can kidney beans and 1 16 oz can of the white kidney "cannellini" beans. Also used half pound of mexican shredded cheese instead of pepperjack. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Yum yum! Didn't use a crockpot, just zapped in the microwave. Smaller portions, of course. I love how quick and easy this was! I'm sure it would be better with fresh chicken, but it was 11pm, we were tired, I was not about to simmer some chicken for what could be a 5 minute recipe. I used a reduced fat mexican cheese blend, and we ate with tortilla strips and fat free sour cream. I do feel like this needed more chicken, though. Even with a serving size of 2, and a 5 oz. can of chicken, I felt this needed more chicken. Only 8 oz. of chicken in 72 oz. of everything else.. It just doesn't seem nearly enough. I'll make this as a quick dinner or lunch often and will try the slow cooker method soon too, to see if the flavors are more prominent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyRJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I'd give this 4 1/2 stars if I could - 5 stars are reserved for really awesome gourmet type stuff. We are camping in a motorhome and I was looking for a recipe using canned chicken that wasn't chicken salad. I had "most" of the ingredients onhand so here's what I used: 1 each 15 1/2 oz cans great northern beans and black beans, about 10 oz. of salsa (what was left in the jar in the fridge), 10 oz. can of chicken, about 1 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese - and I threw in a 4 oz. can of mild, diced green chili's. I put it all in a saucepan and heated it over medium heat till the cheese melted. It was delish! I'm amazed that this simple recipe was sooooo good. I'm usually a "from scratch" cook but this was so good I'm going to be making it often. Thanks, Nblanzy for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Love how easy this recipe is! I used 2 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves instead of a can of chicken. I put them in the crock pot raw, then after 2 hours shredded them and added the meat back in for the remaining time. When there was about an hour left to go, I did a taste test and though the initial flavor was great, but then became pretty bland. So I added 1 Tbsp of oregano, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/8 tsp chili powder, 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes. The end result was delicious! A huge hit for my guests. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
For how easy it is, should be 6 stars. Use fresh boiled and shredded chicken instead. Canned chicken is always pretty gross, no matter the recipe. Hubby loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Used 1 can great northern beans, 1 can corn, 8oz pepper jack, can of chicken, and most of a jar of mango peach salsa. Let sit in the crock pot all afternoon on low and it was DELICIOUS! Great with tortilla chips or just some torn up tortillas. The mango peach salsa made it sweet but still had a little kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States