White Chili IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Great recipe! I use great northern beans and puree 1 can. I also usually use 2 cabs of chopped grenn chilis if I don't have fresh ones. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
LOVED IT! I thought this was great, flavors were wonderful. I made almost exactly to the recipe, changes: no rosemary or mushrooms(don't like), added 1/3 yellow pepper, and 1/2 cup milk at the end, to make it a little creamy. It was really good. I may try it over rice next time, but just as good by itself. I am looking forward to making this again, soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This worked out pretty good for me. I substituted cilatro for the parsley for more bite. Something I did differently was to take one(1)liquid cup of the chili out of the pot after mixing all the ingredients, blended it down, then returned it to the pot. It really helped thicken it to a chili consistency. I served it with spinach gorgonzola cornbread. It was good the first day, but even better the second for lunch. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Great recipe!! I left out the wine and replace 1 can of pinto beans with a can of Cannellini beans. My wife was skeptical about it and she really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fireguy553

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was great!! The family really loved it and that's what is all about, right? My husband Loved it the most!! Anyway, I just made a couple of changes, no mushrooms (didn't seem to fit the recipe to me) and used white beans instead of pinto beans. I also added some cilantro along with the parsley both fresh. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I had never had White Chili before, this is incredibly good. My husband says that "for now" he prefers it to red chili. I made this twice in less than a month, once for my family and once for a party. It was a hit at both! I made a couple of changes the second time I made it: 1. Puree one can of the white beans in the food processor to make the chili creamier without added calories of sour cream. 2. Used 2 cans of chilis instead of fresh chilis 3. Added about 1/2 tsp of cayanne pepper for some added zip. This is a total keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Maxson Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I have made this before and the remedy for the broth being too thin is to add one or two cans of cream of chicken soup or any canned soup that may compliment the mexican spices. I have also used a can or 2 of the cheese based soups that campbells makes. It thickens it up nicely and makes a creamier soup base. My family and friends LOVE it!! I serve it with fritos, sour cream and grated cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beebo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
very good ,... yes more of a soup but great over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole McGovern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was a very good base for White Chili. I did make it my own way, as most of us do. Here are my alterations: I used 2 cans of white kidney beans; I omitted the wine, rosemary, red bell pepper, green onion, mushrooms and bay leaves; I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and a lot of frozen corn. And I coated the chicken in flour and corn starch before browning. That helps to thicken up the stew and keeps the chicken nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWGARDENER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Made this last night and it was fantastic! Now, to everyone who thought this was too soupy - it's supposed to be soupy! The flavor is in the liquid! I used two cans of diced green chiles instead of fresh only because I didn't like the looks of the ones in my grocery store that day. Also reduced the mushrooms to about a half package, diced, and that seemed like plenty for me. Same with the parsley: 1/2 - 3/4 bunch. With the beans I used one can of pintos, one cannellini, and one great northern. I seasoned the chicken with Jane's Krazy Mixed-Up Pepper Blend and sprinkled a liberal amount in the chili as it simmered. Went a little heavy on the cumin too since we like it. Topped it off with shredded cheddar cheese. All my guys thought this was a great meal for a cold day. Froze the one serving that was left over. Bonus: My husband and I agreed that this could very easily be a vegetarian dish. I really don't think the chicken added to the flavor. Next time, I'll just throw in some extra beans or soup pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States