White Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Excellent recipe. Not sure I would consider it to be 6 servings though as my husband and have fairly small appetites and can make 2 meals out of 1 batch (more like 4 servings). If you're using it as an appetizer or side dish then 6 may be accurate. Regardless--delicious and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kane, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed this hearty chili, adding black beans and serving large portions. My daughter also tried a teacup full, although my son shook his head 'no.' Any ideas of how to make this recipe more kid-friendly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klineellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Good, not outsanding. Used 3 jalapenos and that was perfect for a medium-hot heat. Used 1 1/2 tsp. cumin and 1 tsp. salt which was definitely needed otherwise it was fairly bland. And I used only 1 can of beans. It was a nice dinner for a change, but I will probably not make it again. I served it with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
We used 2 jalapeños with seeds and it was really spicy, just as we like it! I omitted the sage and doubled the cumin..also added a couple dashes of chili powder and an extra cup of broth. Fabulous! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
My husband loves this and he claims to hate Northern beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zary125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I must say I did not like how some of the seasonings came together in this. I have never eaten white chili before (we really only make red beefy chili) and wanted to try new beans. I didn't care for the sage and really could taste the ginger. It felt out of place... I really had no idea what to expect with this chili but I found it to be just OK. I used a rotisserie chicken because I forgot to thaw out my chicken and I dont like nuking them. I don't feel like that was the right move with the chili... I would stick with the recipe and cubed your chicken. It made the chili extremely thick- so thick I ended up putting a lot more broth into it. Which in the end it did not need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustBoysMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I made this for my family on a cold and snowy day and it was wonderful...after I made a few changes to the basic recipe! First, I omitted the peppers and replaced with 2 large cans of green chiles and 1 can of rotel. I also omitted the ginger and sage tThanks to the previous review), and added a little more cumin and some ground chipolte red pepper flakes! Finally I mashed the second can of beans for the thicker consistency and incorportated it all into my crock pot for a yummy hot soup dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Too Hot Tamale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Wow, this is good stuff! It was a lot of chopping, but worth it. I made a double batch for my super bowl party, only used 4 jalapenos, 1 each red, yellow & green bell pepper. Was out of flour so i used cornstarch and chicken broth added to boiling chicken broth and butter to thicken. I also added 1/2 packet chichis taco seasoning for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Love the flavor but I wanted to reduce the sodium and fat so I made the following changes. Used reduced sodium chicken broth. Drained the beans before adding. To replace the butter & flour I added an additional can of beans that I drained, then pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Delicious! I used a green bell pepper instead of yellow, because it's what I had, and used 3 large jalapenos + a small can of diced mild fire roasted chiles. Had a really nice heat to it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States