White Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I made this for my husband's hunting trip to feed a group of hungry men, and they all insist I must make this for every trip now. This is a recipe you can really play with...first off I did cheat a little and used a store bought rotisserie chicken, cut up. I also used a yellow and orange pepper along with the red and green for color. I omitted the ginger and sage completely and opted for poultry seasoning, a little more cumin, and some chipotle red pepper. I always use a bunch of different white beans...Northern, Cannellini, Garbanzo, Navy, and even black-eyed peas (because I LOVE them). I usually will mash one can to get a thicker heartier consistency. Top with a dollop of sour cream and some fresh cut chives and a sprinkle of Cheddar cheese...it is so yummy and very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
I added a little more chicken broth to make it not quite so thick. It's the best white chili recipe I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
Wow, this has great flavor. I served with some rolls & a salad and it was an very filling meal. (I didn't even have a roll with mine). Thanks for a truly wonderful, low fat & good for you meal! I do the weight watchers point system & each serving of the chili came out to only 3.5 points by browning the chicken in cooking spray instead of oil and using margarine in place of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Made stove top. Used only 2 jalapenos, forgot the ginger and drained the beans before I realized I shouldn't have. Substituted corn and a small zucchini for the yellow bell pepper. No need for flour or butter since I wanted a brothy, thinner soup. Sauted everything in olive oil. I think this is a no fail recipe and can easily be customized to your taste. Served with sliced avocado on top, rounding out the meal with a tomato salad and warm corn muffins drizzled with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
This was the first chicken Chilli I have ever made myself and my husband and I loved it. Just Spicy enough...lot's of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
This was great chili but I added 3 cloves of garlic and cilantro and it was even better. My husband and 22 month old daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I made this recipe for my husband and I last night. We really loved it. It was fairly quick and easy. I added corn and a little chipotle tobasco. We will have it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe. Tastes great and is very colorful. I also added more garlic and cumin and served it up with some cornbread. However, it wasn't spicy to me at all. I would add some of the jalepano seeds the next time I made it. I like spicy foods though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Very, very good. Be careful with those jalepeno's if you don't like spice! We served it topped with tortilla chips, shredded cheese and sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2000
Everyone in my family loved this recipe, even my picky kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States