White Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
OMG, this chili is amazing! We cheated with the chicken and used a already roasted grocery store one instead. We forgot to buy chicken breasts is all. My husband and I LOVED it. It did have a little kick, I added a handful of sliced jalapenos, but we like a little warmth so that's ok. I wouldn't change a thing!! We will definitely be making this a few more times, it will help us deal with this long MN winter coming up that's for sure!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Breen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I renamed it Hot Chicken Chili...I'm the 2nd person on here that won a church chili cookoff with this recipe! That's why I selected it in the first place. I doubled the recipe and ended up only using 5 jalepenos (doubling called for 8) and there was still plenty of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Four and a half stars because I needed to tweak some things to get it just right. I used 3 cups of chicken stock for this, or it would have been too thick. I used 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin and added 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper as well as 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes. This may sound like a lot, but I cut back the jalapenos to two and kept the seeds (easier to change and add to the hotness once the dish was almost done rather than upfront with the jalapenos). I also added a green bell pepper as well as a small chopped yellow onion (in addition to the green onion). One of the biggest things, however, was that I ended up picking out the chicken chunks and shredding them to help the chicken pick up more flavor; otherwise the pieces were tasting rather bland. Served with shredded cheddar on top - really good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is a great recipe. I did make a few changes, though. I used one can of cannellini beans instead of a second can of great northern beans, just for variety. I also decided to drain the beans instead of add the liquid, and I'm glad I did. We like a thicker chili, and the chicken broth and flour base was just enough for us. The spice combination was perfect, but I upped the amount on all the spices because we like it spicy. I also added oregano and some cayenne pepper as well, and tossed in some fresh cilantro at the end. Because we like it spicy, I substituted one of the bell peppers for a New Mexico chile and two of the jalapenos with habaneros. To really set it off, squeeze some lime juice over each serving - trust me on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
really yummy! Easy to make.....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Made stove top. Used only 2 jalapenos, forgot the ginger and drained the beans before I realized I shouldn't have. Substituted corn and a small zucchini for the yellow bell pepper. No need for flour or butter since I wanted a brothy, thinner soup. Sauted everything in olive oil. I think this is a no fail recipe and can easily be customized to your taste. Served with sliced avocado on top, rounding out the meal with a tomato salad and warm corn muffins drizzled with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
this was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I took this to a chili cook-off at church and won 1st place. I added roasted, peeled and chopped long green chili also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
this has become one of my families all time favs on a cold day..... YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I love this recipe and my boyfriend requests it all the time. So easy and fast for chili. The changes I make is using more chicken since we're big poultry fans and less butter as it is great with only half a tablespoon or so and so much healthier. We also usually use white or yellow onion in place of the green onions since that's what tends to be in the house. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States