White Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I made this for my family on a cold and snowy day and it was wonderful...after I made a few changes to the basic recipe! First, I omitted the peppers and replaced with 2 large cans of green chiles and 1 can of rotel. I also omitted the ginger and sage tThanks to the previous review), and added a little more cumin and some ground chipolte red pepper flakes! Finally I mashed the second can of beans for the thicker consistency and incorportated it all into my crock pot for a yummy hot soup dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Too Hot Tamale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Wow, this is good stuff! It was a lot of chopping, but worth it. I made a double batch for my super bowl party, only used 4 jalapenos, 1 each red, yellow & green bell pepper. Was out of flour so i used cornstarch and chicken broth added to boiling chicken broth and butter to thicken. I also added 1/2 packet chichis taco seasoning for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Love the flavor but I wanted to reduce the sodium and fat so I made the following changes. Used reduced sodium chicken broth. Drained the beans before adding. To replace the butter & flour I added an additional can of beans that I drained, then pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Delicious! I used a green bell pepper instead of yellow, because it's what I had, and used 3 large jalapenos + a small can of diced mild fire roasted chiles. Had a really nice heat to it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I came home to this one night when my daughter and husband decided that they wanted to cook dinner! It was very filling and tasty. They didn't change a thing and all of the ingredients we had on hand. We will definitely make again. We are just trying to think of a way to make the rue lower fat.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I had never made White Chili before but had had it from other people. I chose to make this recipe for a friend last night and it turned out AMAZING! I will definitely be making this again. I put this in my crock pot on low while I was at work which worked out great. Due to a lack of time, I ended up using a Rotisery Chicken which was already extremely moist and was so good in the chili. I also put in 2 cloves of garlic instead of 1 which was good, but only put in 3 Jalepenos because I was nervous it would be too spicy with 4. I'd add 4 definitely next time because there was no kick with only 3. Definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe took considerable doctoring up from the original one that is posted. I just followed a lot of the other suggestions in the reviews that are already up. One thing that I was very surprised/disappointed about is how little this recipe makes. It says that it serves 6 but honestly makes MAYBE two dinner size bowls. My husband and I are piecing together some other left overs to make a true meal! If you're planning to feed more than one or two people make sure to at least double/triple this recipe!! Also, as others have said, all those jalapenos are just too much! All in all it does taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
SUPER!! I used a regular onion as well and left out the ginger. Otherwise I followed it completely. Really Good! Both my husband and step-son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tmallan
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great recipe! I added a teaspoon of cilantro and an extra clove of garlic. Then, served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States