White Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I came home to this one night when my daughter and husband decided that they wanted to cook dinner! It was very filling and tasty. They didn't change a thing and all of the ingredients we had on hand. We will definitely make again. We are just trying to think of a way to make the rue lower fat.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I had never made White Chili before but had had it from other people. I chose to make this recipe for a friend last night and it turned out AMAZING! I will definitely be making this again. I put this in my crock pot on low while I was at work which worked out great. Due to a lack of time, I ended up using a Rotisery Chicken which was already extremely moist and was so good in the chili. I also put in 2 cloves of garlic instead of 1 which was good, but only put in 3 Jalepenos because I was nervous it would be too spicy with 4. I'd add 4 definitely next time because there was no kick with only 3. Definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe took considerable doctoring up from the original one that is posted. I just followed a lot of the other suggestions in the reviews that are already up. One thing that I was very surprised/disappointed about is how little this recipe makes. It says that it serves 6 but honestly makes MAYBE two dinner size bowls. My husband and I are piecing together some other left overs to make a true meal! If you're planning to feed more than one or two people make sure to at least double/triple this recipe!! Also, as others have said, all those jalapenos are just too much! All in all it does taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
SUPER!! I used a regular onion as well and left out the ginger. Otherwise I followed it completely. Really Good! Both my husband and step-son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tmallan
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great recipe! I added a teaspoon of cilantro and an extra clove of garlic. Then, served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
OMG, this chili is amazing! We cheated with the chicken and used a already roasted grocery store one instead. We forgot to buy chicken breasts is all. My husband and I LOVED it. It did have a little kick, I added a handful of sliced jalapenos, but we like a little warmth so that's ok. I wouldn't change a thing!! We will definitely be making this a few more times, it will help us deal with this long MN winter coming up that's for sure!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMBreen95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Allen Kozlowski
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Loved it. I made a few modifications. I smoked 2 whole chickens to give the chili a nice smoky richness. I increased the cumin to a full teaspoon. I utilized red, orange, and yellow peppers for color and added a can of cannellini beans in addition to one can of great northern. Even better the second day after the flavors have had a chance to meld. Topped it with tortilla chips and shredded cheddar. I will make this recipe for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allen Kozlowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I renamed it Hot Chicken Chili...I'm the 2nd person on here that won a church chili cookoff with this recipe! That's why I selected it in the first place. I doubled the recipe and ended up only using 5 jalepenos (doubling called for 8) and there was still plenty of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Four and a half stars because I needed to tweak some things to get it just right. I used 3 cups of chicken stock for this, or it would have been too thick. I used 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin and added 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper as well as 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes. This may sound like a lot, but I cut back the jalapenos to two and kept the seeds (easier to change and add to the hotness once the dish was almost done rather than upfront with the jalapenos). I also added a green bell pepper as well as a small chopped yellow onion (in addition to the green onion). One of the biggest things, however, was that I ended up picking out the chicken chunks and shredding them to help the chicken pick up more flavor; otherwise the pieces were tasting rather bland. Served with shredded cheddar on top - really good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is a great recipe. I did make a few changes, though. I used one can of cannellini beans instead of a second can of great northern beans, just for variety. I also decided to drain the beans instead of add the liquid, and I'm glad I did. We like a thicker chili, and the chicken broth and flour base was just enough for us. The spice combination was perfect, but I upped the amount on all the spices because we like it spicy. I also added oregano and some cayenne pepper as well, and tossed in some fresh cilantro at the end. Because we like it spicy, I substituted one of the bell peppers for a New Mexico chile and two of the jalapenos with habaneros. To really set it off, squeeze some lime juice over each serving - trust me on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States