White Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed this hearty chili, adding black beans and serving large portions. My daughter also tried a teacup full, although my son shook his head 'no.' Any ideas of how to make this recipe more kid-friendly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klineellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Good, not outsanding. Used 3 jalapenos and that was perfect for a medium-hot heat. Used 1 1/2 tsp. cumin and 1 tsp. salt which was definitely needed otherwise it was fairly bland. And I used only 1 can of beans. It was a nice dinner for a change, but I will probably not make it again. I served it with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
We used 2 jalapeños with seeds and it was really spicy, just as we like it! I omitted the sage and doubled the cumin..also added a couple dashes of chili powder and an extra cup of broth. Fabulous! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
My husband loves this and he claims to hate Northern beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zary125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I must say I did not like how some of the seasonings came together in this. I have never eaten white chili before (we really only make red beefy chili) and wanted to try new beans. I didn't care for the sage and really could taste the ginger. It felt out of place... I really had no idea what to expect with this chili but I found it to be just OK. I used a rotisserie chicken because I forgot to thaw out my chicken and I dont like nuking them. I don't feel like that was the right move with the chili... I would stick with the recipe and cubed your chicken. It made the chili extremely thick- so thick I ended up putting a lot more broth into it. Which in the end it did not need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustBoysMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I made this for my family on a cold and snowy day and it was wonderful...after I made a few changes to the basic recipe! First, I omitted the peppers and replaced with 2 large cans of green chiles and 1 can of rotel. I also omitted the ginger and sage tThanks to the previous review), and added a little more cumin and some ground chipolte red pepper flakes! Finally I mashed the second can of beans for the thicker consistency and incorportated it all into my crock pot for a yummy hot soup dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Too Hot Tamale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Wow, this is good stuff! It was a lot of chopping, but worth it. I made a double batch for my super bowl party, only used 4 jalapenos, 1 each red, yellow & green bell pepper. Was out of flour so i used cornstarch and chicken broth added to boiling chicken broth and butter to thicken. I also added 1/2 packet chichis taco seasoning for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Love the flavor but I wanted to reduce the sodium and fat so I made the following changes. Used reduced sodium chicken broth. Drained the beans before adding. To replace the butter & flour I added an additional can of beans that I drained, then pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Delicious! I used a green bell pepper instead of yellow, because it's what I had, and used 3 large jalapenos + a small can of diced mild fire roasted chiles. Had a really nice heat to it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States