White Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I made this for my husband's hunting trip to feed a group of hungry men, and they all insist I must make this for every trip now. This is a recipe you can really play with...first off I did cheat a little and used a store bought rotisserie chicken, cut up. I also used a yellow and orange pepper along with the red and green for color. I omitted the ginger and sage completely and opted for poultry seasoning, a little more cumin, and some chipotle red pepper. I always use a bunch of different white beans...Northern, Cannellini, Garbanzo, Navy, and even black-eyed peas (because I LOVE them). I usually will mash one can to get a thicker heartier consistency. Top with a dollop of sour cream and some fresh cut chives and a sprinkle of Cheddar cheese...it is so yummy and very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I did not use any butter or oil to make this soup. I also omitted the flour and pureed some beans to thicken the sauce. It was absolutely delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I made this for dinner using a vegetarian soy chicken substitute and veg. broth. Served it with garlic bread. Very yummy and nice to have a low-fat white chili option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I made this for a group of friends and they loved it! Everyone wanted the recipe. The only changes I made after reading the other reviews were...I add a couple of cans of beans pureed and did the roux also to get the consistency. In addition I doubled the spice from 1/2 to 1 tsp and I used 4 tsp of cumin...it was delicious...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PennyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This is by far the best chicken chili I have ever tasted. I've made this several times, and have people asking for the recipe. I don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
AMAZINGLY GOOD!My husband and I just made this one for dinner and it turned out fantastic. We followed the recipe in everything,only that we added a can of corn.Nice blend of flavours,great texture and perfect amount of 'spice'.A true keeper, although we will make it again during the winter (we adventured to prepare it in August because we're having a particularly fresh evening in the northwest of Spain today...).Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabyota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I don't use flour for thickening.. I added a cup or so of rice and it was FANTASTIC I also use a ton more bell peppers then it asks for. For the chicken flavor i ALWAYS use Goya chicken bouillon. Perfect if you follow my directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was the first time I made white chili and my guests absolutely raved about this recipe. I will definitely make this again, as will my lunch guests who insisted on copying the recipe. I made it without the jalepenos because of the number of people I was serving, but it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I have been looking for a white chicken chili recipe and will keep on looking because I didn't really care for this at all. The chicken broth roux flavor did not mesh well, and the recipe had spice but not depth of flavor, even after simmering longer than called for. Anyone making this should defintely use the pureed beans for thickening, and maybe even a can of creamed corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Easy to modify to fit family tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States