White Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
I liked the taste of the chili very well, but felt the 4 cups of chicken broth made it too watery, unlike chili and also too salty. If I cook it again I will reduce to 2 cups of chicken broth. Also I found the 2 cups Monterey Jack cheese to be excessive. I would reduce that to 2 cup sprinkled on top just before serving. I think I would add another can of beans to thicken the soup and would not rinse them, but use the broth in the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Excellent!!! And extremely easy. Used ground chicken instead of pork -- also used only one can of broth (14.5oz) and doubled the beans, based on the suggestion of another rater. Next time I'll double the batch, as this ratio only provided 4 meal size servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This was a big hit at our New Year's Eve bash - but as written is a little bland. We used 1.5X spices, added salt and white pepper, and used a little less broth, then added a couple of dashes of green Tabasco. Great with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I have won two chili cookoffs with this recipe! I use shredded chicken instead of pork and use about half the cumin. I also add a few moew green chiles. I cook the chicken in broth, a little white wine, some green chiles and some salsa verde. Like other reviewers I think its much better the next day. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
YUM!!! I can't get over how great this chili is! I reduced the amount of chicken broth I added by about 1/2 cup to make a thicker chili and I let it "season" a day in the fridge before serving! Absolutely wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
My husband and every adult who tries this loves it. We serve it with SCOOPS fritos, and it's heavenly. Also up north it's called SNOW CHILI.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pres. of household

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Good basic white chili. It was fast & easy to make because there where not a lot of ingred., everyone liked. I did use chicken instead of pork. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This chili is fabulous. We made it a week ago and then again tonight. It's very easy and delicious. NOTE: Do not substitute other types of cheese for monterey jack, they won't melt properly! Also, use less chicken broth than recipe calls for, we used 3 cups and it had plenty of liquid. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This chili has the best flavor! I only used 1 onion instead of 2. I also used some leftover chicken instead of the pork. The Monterey Jack cheese I used had jalepenos in it which spiced things up a bit! I was expecting it to be a bit thicker, but adding flour and water to the chili at the end fixes that! I will definately be making this one again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Awesome. I followed the recipe with the exception of the meat. I used a combination of ground turkey and turkey breakfast sausage. My hubby has always bragged about his red chili, but this dish left both of us speechless (we were too busy eating!) Great served with honey cornbread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States